We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST WONDERFUL!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stravithie Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stravithie Castle
Save
You added Stravithie Castle to your Saves list
Stravithie, St. Andrews KY16 8LT , Scotland (Formerly Stravithie Country Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Frick, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“JUST WONDERFUL!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our stay in Stravithie was great! We didn't have a room - it was more a big apartment. We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful castle. My son loved his big room with own TV ;)
We stayed in different castles in scotland but this is one of the best. I can totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This beautiful old castle is in a wonderful, peaceful natural setting just a few minutes drive from St. Andrews. Our room had been converted into an apartment in the 1950's and had a wonderful, vintage bath and two bedrooms with comfortable beds, antiques, and high ceilings. In the kitchen, the table was set for breakfast and we were provided with juices, butter, jam, breads, milk cereal etc. each day. David Charmers the host was quite friendly and we greatly enjoyed talking to time and walking a bit around the estate. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Everything was clean and the towels and bedding were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staying in an old castle may not be everyone's cup of tea, but we thoroughly enjoyed every moment at this unique property. David, the owner, is a wealth of information about the castle so make certain you get into a conversation and see the public rooms. Certainly not a "typical" B&B, it has a separate entrance for the rooms. We stayed in the cellar in the old kitchen which was delightfully large and had a door which opened into the garden overlooking a stream. We saw a room upstairs which had a full sitting room and amazing views over the countryside. The ensuites are nothing special but the experience is what you're there for. You can go for walks throughout the area as it is on many acres. HIGHLY recommended if you enjoy a different sort of experience!
Definitely a delightful experience with a delightful host!

Room Tip: We LOVED the old kitchen in the cellar with original flooring from the 1600's....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I called the B&B to ask for availability on a very specific date (our travel plans were fixed). I was asked to send an e-mail, because the person was outside (nobody offered to call back). I e-mailed immediately. I waited for a response at my computer for 2 hr and eventually had to leave for a short time. Upon return I found a response that the room is available and the price. I e-mailed back immediately that we want to book it and left my phone number (my response was within 1.25 h of receiving the e-mail). I followed up with a call, just to hear from the owner that the room is no longer available.

If I would have been given any option to book over the phone, I would have confirmed it immediately, because our travel plans were set. We travel a lot and I never had such a disappointing booking experience with B&B.

I am sure the place if very nice, IF you get to book it. Apparently even speaking with a live person does not mean anything.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyjane27, Owner at Stravithie Castle, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
This person did no stay at Stravithie so pls remove this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

When visiting St Andrews we found this gem, an old castle built in 1700's. Our lovely Host was David Charmers and he gave us a basement room which used to be the original kitchen. The room is self contained with kitchenette and David gave us Bread and Cereal for breakie.
The bed was a King size and VERY comfortable, we wished we could have stayed longer but our schedule wouldnt allow. It was 85 pound but worth every pennie.
David recommended we drive to Anstruther for our dinner to the famous fish & chip shop, you can eat in or takeway, but be prepared to stand in line but it's worth it. Prince Charles and Camella stop there. If we go back to St Andrews we would certainly stay again only LONGER.
Barbara and Neville Australia

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs kitchen, very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stravithie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stravithie Castle

Address: Stravithie, St. Andrews KY16 8LT , Scotland (Formerly Stravithie Country Estate)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stravithie Bed and Breakfast Accommodation Type: Bed and Breakfast. 3 comfortable double/twin bedrooms with bathrooms. Continental breakfast. WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stravithie Castle St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stravithie Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.