We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Save
You added No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews to your Saves list
12 Grange Road, St. Andrews KY16 8LF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a good find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Have just returned from a overnight stay to St Andrews for the first time and was fortunate to have styayed here at No. 12, having read the high scoring reviews.

We were greeted by Pamela who spent time advising of atractions and restaurants in the area. The rooms were very clean and modern and as a B & B the acommodation can not be faulted. I shared the shower room with my parents but this arrangement may not suit everybody. The location was central to the town and the family friendly East Sands was a couple of minutes away.

Breakfast was also superb, ordered the night before from a vast selection of local produce, the food was prepared fresh and was exceptional quality!! With an unlimited supply of tea and an attentive host and excellent start to the day.

Faultless - thank you Pam!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have the sea views - Bamboo room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    17
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
107
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I fully recommend No. 12 B & B in St. Andrews, Scotland. I stayed there as part of a small golf group and Pam was very accommodating with our clubs, as well as offering invaluable tourist information. The whole house is immaculate and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Nicer than any hotel you'll find anywhere with a personal touch that makes you feel like family. The food is excellent and freshly prepared each morning. I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone - you will be impressed. It is perfectly located with views of the ocean while a short 10 minute walk will get you into the heart of St. Andrews. If there was a rating above excellent, No. 12 B&B would receive it! - Kevin G

Room Tip: I stayed in the room facing the water and it had the perfect combination of a beautiful view with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Thanks Pam, what a wonderful stay, the location of your B&B was excellent, the rooms were clean and roomy.
The morning breakfast was amazing. You were really helpful with tips and instructions to and from Edinburgh. The golf was spectacular. We hope to come back for another visit in a few years. Our family of five enjoyed the short two days there.

Henry Linda Ben Emily Keith
Revelstoke BC Canada

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We loved our stay at No. 12. From the moment we were greeted Bunty carrying her favorite toy, I knew it was a great place. Pam is an excellent hostess and tour guide. Bunty is a great little ambassador for anyone missing their own dog. We had the room without the ocean view, but loved the view of the garden and the large, tastefully decorated room. You can't go wrong with any of the rooms in this B&B. This was our most comfortable room in the UK. The food and coffee were excellent. We're trying to perfect that brew now that we're home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfy rooms, excellent bathrooms, some en suite. Everything you see in the rooms seems to have been carefully selected with an unobtrusive but excellent taste. Nice view from the room to the sea. Quiet neighborhood, about 7-10 min walk to the center of town.

If the description of the first 'B' has sold you the stay, the second 'B' will: wonderful and rich breakfast including fresh fish out of the region (forgot the name of the village, something with a 'P') and/or black pudding, haggis and some other great ingredients to a Scottish breakfast. Unlike in hotels Pam can exactly tell you what you are eating: free-range eggs, regional fish, haggis and black-pudding from a butcher she has known for years.

Accomodation is not exactly inexpensive but compared to a hotel by far the better deal. Been to many B&B places in the UK in the last 25 years but cannot recall having ever seem such a value-for-money.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Niedersachsen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The No12 B&B is a very good place to stay when you come to St. Andrews. Ocean view, conveniently located, walking distance to the city, extremely clean and immaculate.... I can highly recommend it.

Pamela is a wonderful hostess, and her breakfast a real treat... Don't miss the haddock!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

High quality, fairly priced accommodation. My bedroom and en suite were spotlessly clean & comfortable, with a beautiful sea view. The attention to detail was impressive, with lots of little extras included in the room. Not to mention the tunnock's tea cake. The breakfast was superb and locally sourced and I can recommend the haddock & poached eggs! Pam was also very helpful in providing local information and adjusting her timings for me, to accomodate the conference I was attending. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews

Address: 12 Grange Road, St. Andrews KY16 8LF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely modern B&B with Sea Views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.