We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time once again - a family favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Save
You added Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort to your Saves list
Kingsbarns, St. Andrews KY16 8QF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Relaxing time once again - a family favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Another relaxing break mini break with the family at Morton of Pitmilly. This place never disappoints - we will be back soon!
Kids had a blast -
Nice walks, football, swimming, putting and not forgetting feeding the chickens...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    33
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
230
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Have just returned from another wonderful stay at Morton of Pitmilly (can't believe it's been a whole year since our last stay).

This time round we opted for The Stables, and it was simply perfect for the five of us (3 adults, and two children under 4 years old). Modern, spacious and all on the one level The Stables really is a 'home from home'. Overlooking the playpark it was ideally located for the kids to run about and yet still be under the watchful eye of Mum/Dad/Nana).

Our eldest daughter (almost 4 years old) particularly enjoyed daily visits to the chicken coops to check on the egg 'production line' (the eggs are delicious by the way). The extensive nature trails which have been created around the farm are great and particularly useful for getting an 18 months toddler off to sleep in her buggy when the morning's running about has caught up with her!

The location of MOP is ideal for exploring the East Neuk, going into St Andrews or simply heading down to Cambo House/Kingsbarns beach. I heartily recommend a meal in The Golf Hotel, Crail (recommended to us by Catherine at MOP!).

The facilities and service at MOP are a real credit to Eilidh and the entire team.

We have marked off a few more items on Eilidh's "101 things to do list"...can't wait till our next visit to mark off some more!

Room Tip: The Stables is great for families with young children.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous 3 night stay at Pitmilly. It was the ideal location for lots of family members to stay at over a wedding weekend. The steadings are very well equipped and comfortable. We made good use of the sofa bed too which we were informed was extremely comfortable and there was no problem with noise from our two children upstairs or light streaming in in the morning.
The facilities are great - we loved the swimming pool and the play park is perfect for little ones as well as bigger ones. DVD hire is a brilliant idea and there is lots of choice. Some of our group took advantage of the home cooked frozen meals and said they were delicious.
I really hope we can fit in another visit this year. It's a great location and just a lovely place to be on holiday.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Another lovely stay at Morton of Pitmilly. I had the pool to myself one morning-bliss. Great accommodation, friendly service.Our stay was generally quiet in this, my favourite part of Scotland,although maybe grass cutting could be scheduled for later in the day? Ideally situated for 'Scotland's Hidden Bunker'-if you fancy a trip back in time, visit here, the wonderful gardens of Cambo House, the yummy Peat Inn, and of course St Andrews. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed once again at Morton of pitmilly this was our first springtime visit we usually visit in November. Springtime is beautiful we were first of all delighted to see the spring flower guard of honour on our drive into the estate. We had lovely dry sunny but cold windy weather. We were with our grandsons who love MOP they played safely outside with their new friends and were so sad to leave.
We have been visiting MOP for many years, it suits all age groups. The staff are wonderful.
We are booked for our November winter break and my grandsons have insisted we return in Easter and would love to go back in Summer!
Thankyou MOP for a great stay as usual. Regards, The Provans from The Stables.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our first visit to MOP but it won't be our last, The location is peaceful, the lodges are comfortable. We enjoyed long walks, beautiful scenery and visited the local towns for food, crafts and shopping, although the facilities within MOP mean you do not need to go anywhere, everything you could wish for is at your finger tips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Another perfect, relaxing holiday at MOP, this is our 8th time, but first time with a dog, our 6mth cokcer spaniel. She loved lots of country walks around the well maintained grounds. The place was busy as it was the Easter hols, but not over crowded, we still got the pool and football pitch to ourselves. We stayed in the "Steading" our favourite building, its more traditional and very cosy and comfy. Love the new stylish sofa beds.
Close by are Kingsbarns beach and Cambo Estate which are great for dog walking. Also St Andrews has a lovely beach and a nice walk through the town called "Lade Braes". There are plenty eating places to sit outside, and good takeaways to take back to the apartment.
MOP, Kingsbarns and St Andrews are all great places for families and dog lovers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

Address: Kingsbarns, St. Andrews KY16 8QF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning four and five star accommodation...and much more! Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is set in a stunning location just outside St Andrews, the home of golf, and a stone's throw from Kingsbarns Golf Links. It boasts fantastic sea views and is nestled close to the East Neuk of Fife's picturesque fishing villages. It is more than just award-winning four and five star accommodation - offering extensive leisure facilities and activities. Guests love the tranquil setting which combines space and privacy with first class accommodation, many returning for long or short stays throughout the year. Value for money, commitment to quality and exemplary customer service have led to our ongoing succes sover the years and a belief that we offer the most magical holiday experience in the area. Whether you are arranging a reunion, business workshop, golf trip, quiet weekend away, family gathering or an exclusive use venue for a wedding party, Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is the perfect location to stay, play and relax. Discover the magic of Morton of Pitmilly for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morton Of Pitmilly Hotel St. Andrews
Morton Of Pitmilly Countryside Resort St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.