We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Port Bar & Kitchen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Port Bar & Kitchen
Save
You added West Port Bar & Kitchen to your Saves list
170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here masters weekend on annual pilgrimage to st Andrew , very good value for money !! Food excellent & a good pint, rooms were excellent & a very lively bar , perfect for a weekend getaway with the boys ! See you next year !!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are so glad you guys enjoyed your stay with us - and even the golf was good! Look forward to next year :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in January 2013 where after an initial mix up over the room we thought we had booked we were given quite a decent room on the 1st floor. We did find this room could be a bit noisy from the bar underneath which is why we had booked a 2nd floor room.

Generally found the room to be spacious, clean and of a good standard.We found the staff to be generally very friendly and helpful.

We had chosen to have breakfast as part of the package which we found to be a good standard and portions were good. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant and found the food quality to be very good.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor to avoid noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would highly recommend The West Port .. Staff all very friendly , even when busy in the bar. Which is a great place that lots of people like to meet up with friends for the evening , or take the family.

We had a super room, No.3, , beds were brilliant, as was the bedding, a great bathroom , brilliant shower. All very very clean. Breakfast was very good, and tasty, great choice. Service was excellent, with a friendly member of staff on duty.

Everywhere was decorated to a high spec, even the garden with the great covered terrace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was very cold outside but in here we were warm and happy.
The room and en-suite were large and well fitted. The standard of fittings throughout is exceptional for a relatively cheap hotel. Most everything in St. Andrews is exceptionally expensive.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness is obviously a top priority.
The food is good and the bars and lounges well furnished and styled. The beer garden at the back is superb; a real bonus for smokers.
There is a large public car park 2 minutes walk away through the West portal.
The final pleasing touch was the bill; not a lot for what we got.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked a room for one night through laterooms, very very reasonable price of £39.50 for 2 people. Room was a good size, clean and well presented. There's a great choice for breakfast, which is served in the main bar area. Good place to use as a base for visiting the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
687 helpful votes 687 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Been visiting The West Port since 1998 when we first went to St Andrews to university. The West Port seemed to change ownership/management/decor almost annually between 2002 and 2011! However, the varying styles of menus and design have always included wonderful food. It's quite expensive now but I think it does still give value for money. Location is great and the garden large. Always a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came here for a family meal and were impressed with the food. We had a range of dishes including thai curry, fish and chips, chicken and bacon pancakes and the venison burger. We all enjoyed the dishes except for my partner who found the burger a bit soggy. the staff were not overly friendly but everything was served in good time and overall we were pleased. Atmosphere is lovely and is in a very central spot which is handy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Port Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Port Bar & Kitchen

Address: 170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 luxurious contemporary styled en suite bathrooms, located above our bar - perfect for a short break in St Andrews. Relax and enjoy your stay at West Port, St Andrews. You can be assured of a great night's sleep and excellent hospitality, together with modern styled en-suite accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Port Bar & Kitchen St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Port Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.