We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glass House

The Glass House
80 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
+44 1334 473673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 116 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a quaint, petite Italian/ Scottish style restaurant located on North Street in St. Andrews. Right across the road from the famous St Salvadors Quad and Chapel we house a 40 cover restaurant that serves delicious Pasta dishes and the infamous Hand Stretched Pizza's (we are the only restaurant in St. Andrews that does this!). We also offer a bi-daily special that normally includes Seafood that we source locally, but we renowned for our Seafood Linguine. This smoked paprika white wine dish drives the locals and tourists mad with its fresh taste and excellent value for money. This venue is an ideal location for couples, families, tourists and students as we deliver an unrivalled service that shapes itself to your specific requests.
Fife
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was my second visit to this place. The special lunch menu has a good selection of dishes to select from. I had taken along a friend of mine who is vegetarian and there was ample choice for her as well, The staff as in all of this small chains places were fast, friendly and very courteous without being intrusive. I will certainly be back again as will my friend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    144
    50
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Andrews, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Sadly about to move away from St Andrews and have been here at least once a month. It is great for either a quick lunch or a nice dinner. Get down here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have visited on a few occasions for lunch this was our 1st time for an evening meal. We were looking forward to it and were delighted that it was even better then we thought it was going to be. Food for 1st class, service and ambiance in restaurant spot on. Also great value for money for considering the high standard of food and service.
Have eaten in many places in St Andrews and have to say this is up there as one of the best places for eating in the evening.
Well done, everything was perfect and we shall definitely be eating out more at the Glass House in the future and recommending it to friends!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner at the Glass House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have had three good meals at three different restaurants in St Andrews in the last three nights but this one was excellent. The food was great ( I recommend the lamb special and the sticky toffee pudding which was beautifully light) and the service was friendly and very efficient. I'll definitely go back next time I am here.

Incidentally, this was also the cheapest of the three.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
1 review
“Saturday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Really enjoyed lunch menu on Saturday, tortilla for starter and rump steak for main, both were so tasty.
Part of a family group of 8 and an infant. Staff were very accommodating pleasant and professional.
I'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glass House also viewed

 

Been to The Glass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glass House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.