We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Earl David Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Earl David Hotel
Save
You added The Earl David Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street | Coaltown of Wemyss, Kirkcaldy KY1 4NN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a lovely relaxing time. No pressure. Great breakfast. Perfect hosts and a comfortable night's sleep what more could you want when passing through. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    8
See reviews for
6
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

this is the rankest "hotel" in history! it smells terrible there was hair in my food and tea!!!the room was dirty and smelt of damp and it was visable! when i was staying and the "landlord" david got into a fight with a customer! it was the worse stay anywhere ever!!!!!!! avoid like the plague!!!

Room Tip: do not stay here all rooms are as bad as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Thumbs up!!! really had a great time... The owners have been exceptional hosts... very welcoming and you just feel at home immediately. Breakfast was a touch of Scotland and was served to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble and the best of all is that they shared many secrets no travel guide will tell you. We followed their advise along side a couple of good travelers we met during our stay and visited lovely places that wasn't in our itinerary.

Can't wait to arrange another stay and maybe a few days in the other hotel/house they have near the beach.

Thanks and good luck to your new business venture.

Room Tip: room 2 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

we have just flown back down to kent today 8th august 011 we had a fantastic time at the earl david excellent service and very good food including a very hearty breakfast the owner are a fantastic couple who will do anything for you and make you welcome and you feel well at home there we were sad to leave, its clean tidy very good value for money, and you can spend a very good evening in the bar with the locals and they are so nice they really mke you welcome, we will certainly go back again any time we get a long break thanks to shaz and dave and kev and step an andy you really made it good for us and the company was cracking we will be back for sure. mr and mrs whittaker love to you all x
we miss you all already!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yateley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

we booked this hotel at the last minute (heard about it via laterooms but booked direct and they gave me the same deal and included breakfast which was a bonus). got there late but David and his wife were very hospitable. We had our own key so could get back when we wanted the next night from Edinburgh which is not too far away for the Fringe (35 mins or so over Forth Bridge, though centre of Edin is a nightmare until they finish the tram). Decor is in need of some "titivation" as the present owners have not been in for long and not had much chance to update it yet. but they will I am sure. Room was nice clean and spacious for us 4 - 2 older teenagers not used to sharing a room with parents !! Breakfast was great too. especially the haggis and sausage ! Very friendly and to be recommended even though the hotel itself is not a visually stunning place. Also our room nice and quiet even though hotel is on a main road. we were at the back. But the town of Coaltown is quite quiet anyway and I suspect all rooms are quiet enough. Bed very comfortable and had a good night's sleep. off road parking adequate. near the road but felt safe enough. there is a chance to join regularsat the hotel bar if desired. no wi-fi yet but think it will come.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

i stayed at the hotel for two nights with my children, on arrival we were met by the owner who could not do enough for us. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the village. The staff were also very welcoming as were the locals, and the Scottish banter was fantastic... WATP

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Just thought I like to write this, back in January when I visited this Hotel it was a very nice place to stay. The owners at the time were very nice people and could not be more helpfull. We received excellent service with no complaints at all. I believe it changed hands in Feb/March this year so I cannot comment on what it's like now. It's a pity though, as it was a Very Very Nice Place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Earl David Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earl David Hotel

Address: Main Street | Coaltown of Wemyss, Kirkcaldy KY1 4NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Earl David Hotel Kirkcaldy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Earl David Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.