We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotties Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scotties Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Scotties Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
15 Bennochy Road, Kirkcaldy KY2 5QU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay at this B&B....lovely hosts, very helpful....small room at front of house, but perfect for what we wanted- very clean-yummy breakfast - due to small area at front of house for parking, we had to go up the road and leave car on the street, but thats not the owners fault- they just dont have the room for more than 3 cars. Highly recommended B&B- thank you for your hospitality (PS- we took more than the 5 hrs you predicted to get to Manchester- we got lost!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottiesKirkcaldy, Owner at Scotties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Can I just say we have 4 car bays marked out in front? Was somebody hogging the spaces? If you're up again, we'll sort that out for you. Yours, Helaine and Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at Scotties on multiple occasions and could not rate the place more highly. Exceptionally clean and fresh bedrooms with en suite facilities, a great choice of delicious food for breakfast, handy private parking and easy walking distance to town centre. Bryan and Helaine run the place to a very high standard and create a lovely welcoming atmosphere. They are full of great suggestions for local activities and places to visit, including a wonderful coastal walk that I undertook recently - the return journey to Kirkcaldy was by public transport and couldn't have been easier as the train station is just a short walk away from the B&B. I have stayed elsewhere in Kirkcaldy in the same sort of price range, and the difference was unbelievable. If you want a clean room, great food, lovely atmosphere and central location, I would choose Scotties every time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottiesKirkcaldy, Owner at Scotties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Many thanks for a great review. We do appreciate all who are kind enough to take the time to do this, but this exceeds our expectations. Looking forward to your next visit. Helaine and Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Scottie's while visiting our daughter. We were so pleased with the accommodation. I am unable to climb stairs, so was happy to find a lovely B&B with a ground floor room. The room was beautiful decorated with comfortable twin beds, a beautiful and well-appointed bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and all we could ask for. Breakfast was perfect - not too much, not too little. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. We will be back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottiesKirkcaldy, Owner at Scotties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
And we are always glad to see our guests return, so thank you for your lovely comments. Much appreciated, Helaine and Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My Wife and I stayed there from August 26 to Sept. 1. We would definitely give this B&B a 4 Star plus rating. Very reasonably priced, very clean with a friendly atmosphere – Bryan and Helaine are an outstanding couple who make you feel at home and take pride in their establishment. They have a lovely breakfast room with white linen tablecloths and napkins. Helaine is a trained chef and breakfasts couldn’t be much better. They serve a variety of hot food items like haggis, fried eggs, bacon, sausage, fried bread, the list goes on. You can also enjoy toast with a variety of jams, and delicioius coffee or tea. There is a great variety of cereals with fruit, granola bars and yogurt. There is no way you can walk away hungry. In fact you are set for most of the day. If you need advice or information, Bryan and Helaine are there for you. The rooms are very clean with fresh bed linens. There is free parking right out front. The train station is only a 5 minute walk and it takes about 20 minutes to get into Edinburgh. It’s a short walk to the High Street (parallel to the promenade) with lots of good shopping, including Marks & Spencer and the Mercat Mall. It’s very close to St. Andrews with lots of historic sites to visit. It happened to be my birthday and Helaine surpised me with a Birthday cake - what a delightful treat. We would definitely recommend staying there. If we ever go back - that's where we'll stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottiesKirkcaldy, Owner at Scotties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello Henry! I hope you're both well. We do appreciate your high praise and hope we can always live up to your excellent praise! Such a pity we couldn't accommodate your friends on both nights they wanted to join you and they had to go elsewhere for one of the nights. You were lovely guests and make this job very rewarding. Hope to see you in the future. Helaine and Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abingdon on thames
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

great b&b very reasonable price lovley clean and tidey room, breakfast was fantastic with a wide range to choose from, train and bus stations and city center just a short walk away , ,THANK YOU FOR A GREAT STAY , JULIE CLIVE & JELLY BOY NATHAN

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottiesKirkcaldy, Owner at Scotties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Julie and Clive! We appreciate your lovely comments! We hope to see you when you're in the area again. Helaine and Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012. There are three different rooms but they are all twin bedded rooms. Fantastic room, clean and pretty. Good size en-suite, with shower not bath. The price is very good compared to others locally. I really liked the breakfast, it was was well-cooked and loads of choice. The owners keep a very clean house, and were in cleaning every day. They don't allow food in the rooms. This is probably the closest B&B to the railway station, and is an easy walk. Also close to the bus station. Not many restaurants close by , but it's a 15 minute walk to a local Tesco's, or to Kirkcaldy High Street, where there are a couple of good Indian restaurants, and a sublime fish and chip shop (takeaway only) L&A Valente's. Perfect fresh fish and chips served in newspaper sitting by the sea in Fife sunshine, I recommend it.
Not far also from Beveridge Park, which is worth a visit. Also not far from the local hospital.

Room Tip: Ask if you want the downstairs room. The one I had was under the roof so had a few sloping ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottiesKirkcaldy, Owner at Scotties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We do appreciate them and look forward to any future visits from you. Helaine and Bryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotties Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotties Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Bennochy Road, Kirkcaldy KY2 5QU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property was completely renovated in 2006 to provide 3 high quality twin Bedded en-suite rooms. There is Free parking and Free WiFi. The Self Service Breakfast cereal selection is followed by a full cooked Scottish Breakfast. The Bus and Train Stations are only a short walk, as is the High Street with its many and varied eating places. There is also the Victoria Hotel just a short walk away for those who prefer the High Tea or A La Carte options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scotties Bed And Breakfast Kirkcaldy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotties Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.