We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best. The very best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L & A Valente

L & A Valente
21 High Street, Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 101 Restaurants in Kirkcaldy
Cuisines: Scottish
Restaurant details
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The best. The very best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

First time I went to this place was 44 years ago. It has a seriously professional air of cleanliness. No badly written or scribbled signs or any dust dirt or anything less than decor that exudes pride and determination that their food will excel. Menu is varied but if you go - and you must at least once - you have to try the fish and chips. Both are exemplary. Hot and specially made for you. The wait is worth it. Expertly made and offered with fresh vinegar and sauce. Even the bottles the sauce and vinegar are in are scrupulously clean. There's one guy that I swear I recognised from when I was only 5 or so. He's the boss and warned the server in the friendliest way to be careful of the heat. I'll bet working there is hard but good if you meet the exacting standards. If there is a better chip shop on Earth then I wanna go there. Superb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“best fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

fish from valente's is always great - very dry/not greasy and is always cooked to order so served pipping hot!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

lovely fish and chips and great prices,came from Aberdeen to here and its soooo much better. Look forward to next visit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leven fife United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

one great fish shop never had a bad supper from there staff always very helpful and so clean its been on the go for over 50 years taken there by my great aunt many years ago still best suppers around

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L & A Valente also viewed

 

Been to L & A Valente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & A Valente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.