We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Society Cafe Bar

Society Cafe Bar
13 Charlotte Street, Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 97 Restaurants in Kirkcaldy
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Are listed on Facebook too
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pricy but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Food - (4/5) I had fajitas and they were delicious. A lot of the menu didn't really inspire when I was reading, so was surprised how good these were.
Value - (2/5) Paid £15 for fajitas. Essentially same meal was £9 in an Edinburgh restaurant last week. I drank soda-water which they didn't charge me for, which improved my opinion of the value!
Service - (3/5) Kindly charged my iPhone behind the bar. Generally okay service.
Atmosphere - (4/5) Quiet Monday, but lovely decor and assume its great at busier times.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Here with a large party for Xmas. Apart from our group the place was pretty dead. Not impressed by the food at all. Limited choice of 3 starters, mains and desserts. Salmon and prawn salad was an overstated name for a tiny piece of smoked salmon, 4 mini prawns and a tiny side salad; chicken and haggis was dry and overcooked and dessert seemed like it came from Iceland. No real atmosphere and a few staff who must have decided to leave their smiles at home - all for nearly £22 a head plus drinks.

Merry Christmas!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The staff make the venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a meal mid week and were delighted to be served by Mark. It was our first visit and because we told him that he showed us around the building, it is beautiful. We tried out the evening offer menu and got three very tasty courses for only £26.95. It also included a bottle of the house wine, which we chose to have red. Very good for a house wine. A couple of the young waitresses checked on us throughout the meal and they were very bubbly and seemed happy to be at work which is a refreshing change. We are looking forward to returning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Huge choice of food, and a DJ at night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We came here for a meal last week and stayed on for drinks afterwards. They have a DJ on 4 nights a week which brings a welcome change to the normal background music. Our food was really good, I had the steak pie and my partner had the fajitas, and both were well presented with good portion sizes. And the cheesecake trio!! WOW! We chose to have a few of the cocktails, the ice lollies looked great and the mojitos were good too. Our bill came to around £50 which we would have expected to pay a lot more for the amount we had. Great value and we'll definitely return!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food and very pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Have had many nights out here and could not imagine going along for a meal. However, a friend suggested going for her birthday meal and the food was very good. The atmosphere also surprised me as I only had ever been in on a late drunken night out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I have been back many times since. The beer garden is lovely in the summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Society Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Been to Society Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Society Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.