We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Maxin

New Maxin
3 - 5 High Street, Kirkcaldy, Scotland
(01592) 263406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 101 Restaurants in Kirkcaldy
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Big difference from our last visit in March.7pm on a Thursday evening and we are the only customers apart from a table of 6 (4 adults 2 children) who were complaining about the length of time they were having to wait on their coffee. As there was only one waitress, service was really slow and she didn't have the bottle of wine we wanted. The food was okay but our request for a small portion of chicken curry for our son was refused, they could only do small portions of sweet & sour chicken (?? ) If they can no longer cater for children then we won't be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Customer service is shocking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I will start by saying the food is delicious! We went for a family meal to celebrate a birthday. Initial impressions of staff were good. The first problem occurred when we were ordering our starters, my auntie asked the waitress if she could have something which was not on the menu and the waitress confirmed the chef was happy to make it for her. Another waitress came to take the food order and was then told she could not have it. As there were 6 of us around a small table, there wasn't much space so when the main meals came out, the rice and noodles were in various dishes and it proved difficult to fit all our plates on the table which was quite uncomfortable. There were a few members of staff serving our food. One waitress came out with a dish and said 'chicken?' As 4 of us were all having different chicken dishes we asked which kind of chicken it was and the reply was simply 'don't know.' I found this unbelievable as I have been a waitress myself in my teenage years and would never take a dish out to someone when I wasn't sure what it was. My boyfriend had a dish on a sizzling platter and when the waiter put it on the table he burnt my boyfriends arm on the dish. We began eating our food which was amazing and to my surprise I found a chicken bone in my food which was very off putting. We had also ordered several portions of chips to share which never appeared. After our meal we were obviously not happy. My dad asked the waitress who had been serving us the most if he could speak to her about our experience (she had been lovely all evening). On approaching her, her attitude had completely changed and she actually started shouting at him saying 'you just want to complain about everything!' This was very shocking as I would never expect a waitress to act in this way, especially when he was being polite about it. Very unprofessional. We then spoke to the manager and her reply to the terrible service we received was that they were all new staff, learning and we should give them a chance. She took the chicken dish with the bone off the bill but didn't seem too interested in what we had to say. As the food is very good I have phoned for a delivery a few times and even over the phone the staff are very rude. This restaurant has great potential but with the staffs attitudes and lack of customer service, they probably lose a lot of customers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Family dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Staff always friendly and helpful. Food is always prepared and presented to a high standard. Good for a Family get together.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went to new Maxines last night. I was a bit wary as i had previously thought the food had been going downhill a few years back. New management and a re-vamp later and it was like a new restaurant. Food was amazing and despite the restaurant being busy the staff were attentive and on the ball. Great night

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Probably the best Chinese restuarant in Fife. It is well worth booking a table because of this, it can be very busy, especially on weekends. Plenty dishes to choose from but I would reccommend the lemon chicken - outstanding!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Maxin also viewed

 

Been to New Maxin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Maxin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.