We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathearn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Strathearn Hotel to your Saves list
The Strathearn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Wishart Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 2AS, Scotland (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Service terrible! Arrived just as dining room closed, although we were offered a beer but the taps were dry. Asked for a restaurant recommendation - the staff didn't know of one. The shower had mold. The room door didn't lock although it was fixed -sort of- after we pointed it out. We were promised yogurt for breakfast but it never arrived even after several days. We could have picked up the yogurt ourselves if a fridge was made available. The only fruit offered for breakfast were canned pieces of grapefruit . Manager seemed quite disinterested except with the Internet. Avoid!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    13
    11
    30
See reviews for
23
30
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

When we were booked into this hotel by a friend who had organised a visit to the area, we went onto Trip Advisor to read the reviews.
Those we read did not exactly rate the Strathearn Hotel very highly. We thought it could not be as bad as they had reported. But it was only for two nights and the alternative choices in the area are very limited.

How wrong can you be? The place has passed into rig amortise but no one has informed the owners. Dinner - less than average. My starter of deep fried haggis with curry sauce was like a soup with lumps in! Main course fish and chips with warm peas, look at picture five on their site!! my Scottish cheese plate consisted on three pieces of the same cheese, cold and rubbery, surrounded by a sea of biscuits, four packets of butter, half a cold tomato and two spring onions!

Breakfast - terrible, cereals and two juices, warm bacon, sausage, mushrooms, hash brown raw tomato and cold toast.

When our wives returned from an evening meal the hotel was in total darkness and they had to grope their way upstairs to their rooms, on their return downstairs, the bar was closed, but the lights were on. The Manager was not at all interested in the complaints concerning the bar closure, her comments were 'we have the right to close the bar when no one is here!!' Unfortunately she was ignoring the four ladies who we're waiting to get into the bar, but it soon opened when the men returned later in the evening.

Rooms considerably less than clean. Unwashed glasses, tea mugs and sticky spoon, empty bottle of whiskey behind toilet in room seven. No bed side tables or side lights.

It would also appear that the hotel is only using a few complementary reviews from Trip Advisor reviews on their own site.

So beware. You have been warned....

Keith & Rae
West Sussex

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This building has so much potential and has clearly been magnificent in the past, but O dear! It is in desperate need of internal refurbishment and the food is dreadful. Never again.

Dated rooms, lumpy beds and the whole place needs a good clean. Staff tried their best but....!

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Loved the Strathearn in Kirkcaldy. We needed a place to stay last minute that was close to a bus stop to get to T in the Park. The Strathearn met all the requirements with reasonable price even last minute, close to bus stop, breakfast included. They arranged for a cab for us even as we were frantically late. Would recommend to a friend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Looks fab ... but didn't work for us. We were visiting Edinburgh during Festival had to come up with accommodation with short notice. yes i booked this hotel then cancelled by phone whether the chap who answered the book couldn't understand my accent I do not know.
No record no money back . Very expensive.. The low point of our trip ... glad to be home sweet home!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here en route to St Andrews to drop our daughter at University and it was really good. All slightly old fashioned but clean and tidy, easy to fing and loads of parking, very friendly staff and a good breakfast included in the price which was very reasonable. I would stay there again and from what little we saw Kirkcaldy didnt seem too bad a place either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked via expedia at £70 for double room with en-suite. I can put up with a lot but what a cheek charging this for a room that can only be described as a cupboard and a DIRTY ONE at that! A double bed with a lumpy spring mattrass that was like a torture contraption. The tiny en-suite consisted of a dirty shower with mildew and smelt of damp with a leaky tap/cistern that make a racket all night. Breakfast was a joke - no nice greeting, cold toast, no fruit juice, raw egg. Not surprisingly there was no one on reception when visitors left. I have stayed in many hotels and this is my first complaint - ONLY TO WARN UNSUSPECTING VISITORS - this hotel looks nice but I've stayed in cleaner bothy's on the hills than this place. A total disgrace.

Room Tip: The appearance of the reception area is lovely and this could be such a gem of a place but DON'T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathearn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathearn Hotel

Address: 2 Wishart Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 2AS, Scotland (Formerly Minotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathearn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm welcome always awaits you at the Strathearn Hotel. The Strathearn is a characteristic Georgian house situated in it`s own landscaped gardens to the North of Kirkcaldy on the picturesque East Coast of Fife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Strathearn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathearn Hotel Kirkcaldy
The Strathearn Hotel Kirkcaldy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathearn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.