We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally loved it and would go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathearn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Strathearn Hotel to your Saves list
The Strathearn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Wishart Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 2AS, Scotland (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“totally loved it and would go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I was recently there for a wedding function, my god what can i say about it, the staff were totally out of this world, they could not do enough for you and were always on hand when needed. Rooms were excellent clean and tidy. The food was lovely. I would recommend it to everyone to stay or have function there. Most friendly hotel i have ever been to.

Room Tip: keep up the excellent work :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    13
    11
    30
See reviews for
23
30
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Having recently attended a function, I was disappointed by the lack of food, argumentative staff and almost non-existent waitress service. I hadn't been for a long time but I won't be back any time soon - if at all.

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

i attended a function here. The location was great but that's where the compliments will end. The unlabelled buffet food, we had to serve ourselves on dishes barely larger than a side plate, ran out before all our party had some. Our request for more food was turned down so some of our party went for a chinese take away. We were snapped at when we asked for more cutlery. We cleared our own dirty dishes. One waitress was dressed as if she had just been for a run. Sandwiches were served later but the damage was done. What an unpleasant start to our evening. We are a local group who hold frequent social events but we won't be back here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Stayed here for two nights, and have stayed here the previous two years.

This year found the bar snacks to be out of date, and the cereals the next morning 6 months out of date, dread to think about the cooked food behind the scenes!

Hotel could also do with some sort of Digital TV like Sky or Virgin, as their free view was appalling

Rooms again OK and tidy, as was the bathrooms

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We would like to thank everyone at the Strathearn for a wonderful day. They could not do enough to ensure we had a terrific time, thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed with family in July, received a warm welcome, friendly bar and good food.
Had a very comfortable night after an exhausting day in the family room for 3.
Close to St Andrews golf so very handy location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

After reading reviews of this hotel we looked around for somewhere else but there are not a lot of choices in Kirkcaldy. We were prepared to make allowances for the Strathearn but it was much better than we expected, it's in a lovely location with a big car park, the building is lovely and the welcome was warm and friendly. Our room and bathroom were standard, very clean, with a comfortable bed and flat screen TV, the breakfast was really good, freshly cooked to order. On the downside, the cleaning trolley was parked outside our room for all of our stay, we could see, hear and smell the gas boiler on the 1st floor, there was nowhere to hang or lay down anything in the bathroom and the shower tray was exceptionally slow to drain away (needing cleaned perhaps), also we had frosted glass on our bedroom window so no outlook at all. Not a bad place to stay at all but could be improved hugely without too much expense or effort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathearn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathearn Hotel

Address: 2 Wishart Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 2AS, Scotland (Formerly Minotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathearn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm welcome always awaits you at the Strathearn Hotel. The Strathearn is a characteristic Georgian house situated in it`s own landscaped gardens to the North of Kirkcaldy on the picturesque East Coast of Fife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Strathearn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathearn Hotel Kirkcaldy
The Strathearn Hotel Kirkcaldy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathearn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.