We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Venison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3ET, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top notch Venison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great place for a right tasty meal without bursting the bank. i can highly recomend the Cullen Skink, the Venison and any of the excellent sweets. The service is really good and very friendly a really nice, pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    111
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
69
128
12
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. We were in a "garden room" which was an annexe to the hotel which could only be reached by going outside and walking a short distance. Rooms were well appointed and beds were comfy. Bathroom was excellent. Breakfast was a disappointment as the bacon, sausages and other fried items were obviously cooked from frozen - we saw a frozen foods delivery truck delivering one morning.
The staff were fine, especially the girls in the breakfast room and also Wendy behind the bar.
Loads of parking and location made for quiet nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property after a days golf at St Andrews. The facility of an indoor swimming pool was a welcome delight. Most staff efficient and friendly. Cosy Bar and dining facility with the backdrop of a large lawn and garden area. Found the quality of the evening meal quite satisfactory. Room was quite large (for Scottish standards). Bathroom size more than adequate. As per normal the Hotel does not have a cooling system and as it has been a very warm summer, rooms are hot and require access to ventilation. The room we had did have this access and a good nights sleep was enjoyed. At the front of the hotel, there is a relatively large car park and whilst not to much disturbance occurred in our visit, on a busy night, it could. Only adverse issue encountered in the visit was during breakfast, some crockery was missing and dispute a couple of requests, was not forthcoming. Waitress did not appear to want to serve the table after an approach was made to another staff member to address the problem. Notwithstanding this minor issue, would not have any problem in staying at ths property in the future

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came up to Glenrothes for a Tae Kwondo tournament and ended up one night in the Holiday Inn Express and another in Balgeddie House. Balgeddie has the edge although there really was nothing wrong with HIEx, which had more comfortable beds! Breakfast at Balgeddie was fantastic, full Scottish went down a treat! The facilities looked great too but didn't have time to try them. Another time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Positives : -The hotel has beautiful gardens and is a lovely hotel. We were in room 206 and it was spacious and looked onto the gardens. It was generally a clean bedroom, although the bathroom floor could have been given more attention.

Negatives:- The hotel was so hot, we couldn't sleep. The room above has very bad floorboards and creates a lot of noise when the guests move around.The dinner we had was ok but the breakfast was awful. The toast was hard and everything else tasted as if it had been made 3 hours previously and then left under a hotplate. It was so disappointing.

Overall I would not return to this hotel. I have stayed in better bed and breakfasts in the area. The only slight redeeming feature of the hotel is the serving staff who were all helpful and friendly. However, the receptionist could benefit with a bit of customer training as she greeted us with the line 'what's the name'? No hello or smile which is poor given that she is the first person we encountered on our stay. Not exactly a warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here in a couple of years but this time was for business with colleagues and we stayed for 3 days, and the staff were just as friendly and helpful and the service at reception and dining room was excellent.
We used the pool in the evening and the pool area and changing rooms were cleaned regularly.
The room was really nice and the bed comfortable.
It's nice to have proper shortbread in your room instead of those normal bourbon biscuits you get in most hotels.
Breakfast was good and although they have the usual continental buffet the fry up is served to your table meaning you don't have to queue up in the morning.
Dinner each night was very tasty although if I was too complain at all it's just that the servings were too big!
The homemade cheesecake was delicious.
Overall very nice and I will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Last time I was in the garden room which was great, This time I was on the second floor, If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in room 234 for two nights leaving Monday 5th August. Room was modern and excellent with outlook onto back gardens. Very clean and well serviced by friendly staff. Breakfast was buffet with service for cooked items. There was an adequate choice although not a great deal of choices - only natural yoghurt available. Cooked breakfast was OK and again the staff were very friendly. The Gym and Spa are fairly new and are excellent. Staff keep it very clean and always asked how we found it. It is a popular hotel for weddings which means there can be some loud music with bagpipes etc., but even this was enjoyable. The hotel is ideal for visits to Ely, Anstruther and St. Andrews and all the surrounding golf courses and attractions.This is great value for the cost and would have no problem recommending it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel

Address: Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3ET, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
#3 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
#4 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is located on the outskirts of Glenrothes in central Fife. Whether your stay in Fife is for business or pleasure the Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is the ideal home from home for your stay.Our tranquil setting in immaculate landscaped gardens combines modern facilities with "olde world" charm and we pride ourselves on value for money and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay. Our Leisure Club - The Fountain Spa - is now Open. Our aim is to provide a complete Health & Leisure experience for our guests. Whether your aim is social, fitness, health related or simply relaxation we provide a service that will accommodate your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgeddie Hotel Glenrothes
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel Glenrothes, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.