We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurb Complete?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leslie Road | Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY6 3EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Glenrothes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
666 reviews 666 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
“Refurb Complete?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The refurb has not quite happened as, at best, I have seen a few bedroom walls painted but that is about it. Shame to say it but I just don't think there is real commitment to invest.

A few staff have also moved on or been absent for some time and the welcome is not quite as consistently good as it was. It also bugs me a little that despite being here almost every week my credit card has to be pre-authorised every time (just a little thing but why?).

Still, for now, this still represents the best option for me as a regular visitor to the area. Though perhaps more than ever tempted to look for a good value local B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear sleep007,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of our hotel and the service you received did not live up to your expectations. I am also sorry for the issues you had with the booking process and any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope to serve you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    64
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
51
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable with a choice of pillows but a little cold, but that could just be me! But had all the amenities you need in the room, had a good bathroom. The breakfast had a good variety. Location is good for a business trip or a stop over. Would recommend this hotel for a night or two.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear melaniet970,

Thank you for your considerate review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are pleased to hear that we met your expectations. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, Cambridgshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Not sure what you expect from this value of Hotel. As an IHG Priority Club Member, I have never had any issues over the years, when I visit my home town. The first chain hotel to be available, it is clean, has what you need, and the service is always good. Dealt with Betty and Wendy (who I went to school with incidentally!) and both are very friendly, helpful and professional.

I stayed and it was minus figures outside, but my room was toasty, a range of TV channels to watch, a Pub next door.

What more could you want? Great and central for sightseeing the great Kingdom of Fife. I would recommend all the way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I spent 4 nights there and the heater is horrible!!! The first night I thought it was just me, I turned the heater up to its maximum setting and in the morning it was 3 degrees in my room!
I complained to the hotel and got the response 'the heaters are the same in every room.'
I asked to have my room changed and got nothing.
Maybe in the summer time this might be worthy of my money but I highly doubt it with customer service like that!!! I would suggest any other hotel but this one. Noise level outside of my room was awful, as it was the room (one of 4) that is situated by the main stairs. The breakfast is a typical English breakfast selection but if it is crowded the layout of the tables makes it difficult to get your food without being jabbed or bumping into a table.
So, consider it before you stay there, the winter time is not a good time to stay in this hotel. Even with it not as cold as it is going to get.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for one night at each end of a holiday and found the staff very helpful and the room very clean and comfortable. Our request for a ground floor room to help with mobility issues was readily met and there was plenty of parking available. It was straightforward to access the M90 in both directions with about twenty minutes travelling through interesting countryside to the hotel. Breakfast is very adequate and served from very early morning until late morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just a one night break . Hotel clean and great value. Receptionist ( from Auchtermuchty) , super friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast most adequate , though a bit of a mad scramble as we picked a busy time .

Only complaint would be the extortinate bar prices. £7 for a vodka and coke makes airlines look cheap !

Room Tip: Room 109 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel room is standard for a HI Express. One advantage of this hotel is that it had freeview on the TV instead of the limited number in other HI Express hotels.
Room was clean, so was the bedding. Except for one pillowcase, which was slightly soiled, so didn't use.
Staff very helpful and friendly. Great room (breakfast room) was small, but the hotel is pretty small. Limited number of tables at peak time, and had to wait about 5 minutes for one to become available.
Has a pub serving food next door, so, no food (apart from breakfast) in the hotel.
One thing to be aware of: There is no lift in this hotel.

Room Tip: No lift in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Address: Leslie Road | Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY6 3EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the town of Glenrothes, within easy reach of Edinburgh, Perth and historic St Andrews the Express by Holiday Inn Glenrothes is the ideal choice for guests looking for a hotel in the heart of Fife. The hotel is 20 miles from the Forth Bridge via the A911 and the M90, giving easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the South.The hotel has just undergone renovations and provides a modern and fresh communal area for guests. This includes a lounge area where we welcome guests to our hotel bar and to watch our widescreen tv featuring Sky Sports.We are a small hotel with a friendly, family feel perfect for business, sole and family travellers. For any more information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenrothes
Holiday Inn Glenrothes
Glenrothes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.