We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leslie Road | Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY6 3EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenrothes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for the Scottish Open Water Triathlon Championships at Loch Ore which was ideal for our use. The rooms are good sized, clean and tidy. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is also plenty of free parking. The hotel allowed us to take our road bikes into the room and actually helped take them up.

One downside was the breakfast which was very average at the hotel, otherwise the hotel is great value for money.

The pub next door to the Holiday Express Inn does very good quality fresh food at good prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
39
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed for one night as attending a wedding locally.
We were able to book in early and a taxi was ordered for us. Room comfortable and clean, breakfast good for what we were paying and staff were friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mintlaw, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here the weekend of the BTCC. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room nice and clean, bed a little soft but that's our preference. Breakfast good and ample parking. What more could you ask for. Oh and food at pub next door was excellent .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Just what we needed. Warm welcomed very good room. Ample parking. Breakfast was well serviced and very good value. Would stay again the room was cleaned each day. We used it as a base for the Connie walker competition at gleneagles. All aspects of the hotel worked for us

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Simple review. .

Positives, clean, tidy made to feel welcome by staff, ample free parking.

Negatives, chargeable wifi in public areas, ltd fresh fruit for breakfast-not upto other Hi Express standards.

If you are in the area looking for a bed, this is a good place to stay in eady to find good location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very nice location- great pub next door called Fetty Inn ( or similar name). Beds comfortable but lack of pillows.
Good car park facilities, bit disappointing that we had to pay for WFI as free in USA- stayed in Holiday Inns over there.
Breakfast ok pleasant room but was busy on one day and had to wait. About 30 miles from Edinburgh - stayed here for the Tattoo - cheaper than staying in Edinburgh City.
Hotel was also quiet at night a great bonus when you have had a tiring drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am delighted you had a comfortable, quiet nights sleep in our hotel, the comfort of our beds is mentioned quite often. If you are staying with us or any other HI Express in the future please contact reception who can arrange extra pillows for your room.

I apologise you had to wait at breakfast. This should not have happened as we would normally open up our meeting room to accomodate guests on our busier days. I will look into this I do hope this was not done due to a conference being held and the room being occupied. Guests are also welcome to take breakfast to their rooms.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

stay at this hotel on trip north, pleased that television in rooms upgraded, staff as usual extremely helpful and friendly. However breakfast compared to other 'Express hotels' poor. If you have children only cereal and toast, should try harder

Room Tip: pick a higher floor reduces noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the team members were "as usual extremely helpful and friendly".

All of our bedrooms have had the televisions replaced as you mentioned and we are also in the process of decorating our bedrooms. As this is our busiest time of year it is taking slightly longer.

I am dissapointed to read that your expectations were not met regarding the Express Start Breakfast. There are standards in place for this; some items are required while others are optional.
I would appreciate more feedback regarding your experiences at other Holiday Inn Expresses with their breakfast so we can improve ours. If you have the time I would appreciate you sending me an e-mail with further comments on our items offered and your experiences at other HI Express hotels. My e-mail address is: lynsay@hiexpressglenrothes.co.uk

Once again thank you for your review, I will pass your comments on to all team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Address: Leslie Road | Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY6 3EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the town of Glenrothes, within easy reach of Edinburgh, Perth and historic St Andrews the Express by Holiday Inn Glenrothes is the ideal choice for guests looking for a hotel in the heart of Fife. The hotel is 20 miles from the Forth Bridge via the A911 and the M90, giving easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the South.The hotel has just undergone renovations and provides a modern and fresh communal area for guests. This includes a lounge area where we welcome guests to our hotel bar and to watch our widescreen tv featuring Sky Sports.We are a small hotel with a friendly, family feel perfect for business, sole and family travellers. For any more information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenrothes
Holiday Inn Glenrothes
Glenrothes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.