We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garvock House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunfermline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garvock House Hotel
Save
You added Garvock House Hotel to your Saves list
St. John's Drive | Transy, Dunfermline KY12 7TU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cowdenbeath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

First of all ignore the negative comments on here about the Garvock! I dined there last nite with my friend and it was excellent.

From the moment we walked in we were greeted kindly by someone and shown to the cocktail/bar, where we were seated and ordered drinks, they also presented a small bowl of nibbles for us to enjoy whilst we had a look at the menu. We did have a bit of a wait till we were shown to our table but I think that was due to there being a birthday party taking place there. To us this was no problem though. The hotel itself is old fashioned with loads of character. We were then shown to our table in one of the rooms where there was fresh bread and butter awaiting our arrival. We ordered fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious! All the staff were lovely and could not do enough for us and were always smiling. I would recommend this place to anyone, so much so I have booked my wedding for here next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    24
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
39
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We dined with another couple on a Saturday night in December. The hotel was very busy and we could only get a table reservation for 9pm, a good sign. Menu choice, service and food quality were all excellent. Desserts were a slight let down but we would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went here for a meal as we had vouchers as a wedding present,not keen on the food i had lamb and it was uneatable,my husbands was ok and i ended up eating some of his meal as mine was that bad,i did say to the waiter and we did get offered another meal but by the time my husband had already ate his so it was too late,just put it down to experience and not go back,place needs an overhaul very old fashioned and shabby not my cup of tea might be ok for older mature diners but not for us im afraid.Never stayed in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haggis14
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Arrived Wed 5th Dec 2012 road from car park unlight, reception was fine asked if dining I said no would have room service, room fine, went to bar ordered drink and was served as matter of fact (poor manner) asked for room service menu and was told in my room, I mentioned on previouse stays I got menu from bar, NO in room, as there was a bar table reserved with nibbles for 12 in the small area I was sitting in and a few people arriving, the barman finished serving and failed to ask if I would like crisps/nibbles or if I would like another drink that would have been to much for a guest to expect (maybe it was my bruising and cuts on my face from a fall on ice or was it the way I was dressed).
Back to my room found RS menu with snacks, phoned reception 8 minutes till answered asked for menu 7 miniutes later (note room on ground floor and 1 minute from reception) picked food and called reception gave up after 12 minutes engaged, complained at reception and ended up going out for my meal, as a staying guest is not what one would expect.
It is the writers opinion the hotel is geared for people not staying and only in for drink and meal in dinning room with the bar staff showing preference to dinners and can't be bothered with guests wanting room service, had I said when checking in I would eat in the dinning room this would have been totally diffrent.
On another note breakfast is not served until 7 in my experience with this class of hotel and having 24hr service I would have thought it possible to have continental in my room as I normally leavel around 6 (disapointing) as my company pay for breakfast in the cost of the room) and coming to that I have asked them to review using the hotel, not that it matters but for me I wont be back.

BR

Room Tip: Dont ask for room service, room 4 has smokers outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were given a gift voucher for this hotel as a wedding present from family. We phoned to see if the voucher could be split so we could enjoy 2 lunches instead of 1 dinner and the staff said we could (good start as some places would say no to this i.e. no refund on the voucher)
The staff were very professional and the food was exceptional - We can't wait to use the remaining money left on the voucher for another lunch!!
We have been before for a private dinner (50th wedding anniversary), a friends wedding and a celebration lunch when my wife passed her theory driving test. Each time has been excellent.
The building and grounds are beautiful so the pleasure of this place starts when you drive up to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Garvock House saturday 27th Oct, met up with friends for 60th party near by
we had a lovely room, staff very nice and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, they managed to set a table for six so we could be together.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room number 11 was a lovley room , all rooms are not all the same decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Garvock Hotel for a family wedding and had a wonderful stay. The hotel & facilities are fantastic and the Garvock team could not have been better & made the whole experience very special.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garvock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garvock House Hotel

Address: St. John's Drive | Transy, Dunfermline KY12 7TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a delightfully elevated position in the ancient capital of Dunfermline - Garvock House sits proudly in over 2 acres of gardens, a glorious testimony to its hey day as a stunning family house. Truly 'the country house hotel in town.' Family owned and run, Garvock House has been transformed into a delightful hotel retaining an authentic and rather special country house charm and informality: relaxing and elegant with classic interiors, very comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. And a passion for fresh produce which remains undimmed. Dunfermline hotels just don't come better than this. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garvock House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garvock House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.