We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel 1.5 miles from Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pitbauchlie House Hotel to your Saves list
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel 1.5 miles from Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Good location with larger than average rooms with attached restaurant. Very good breakfast and we ate in the restaurant one night which was good. They seem to cater for coach parties. Sky TV in The Bar. Too far to walk into Dunfermline

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for posting such a welcome review following your recent stay. Pitbauchlie is situated just over a mile from Dunfermline town centre and there is a good bus service or taxi service to take you there. Granted if you are walking, it is uphill, but then again its downhill on the way back. We are all delighted that our services and facilities met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    71
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
31
65
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good value for money, spacious bedroom and bathroom. Could do with air conditioning in bedrooms though, it was far too hot. We did open window, but then got noise and smells from kitchen air conditioning/fans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We don’t normally have the need for air conditioning in our bedrooms; we are experiencing extremely high (and unusual) temperatures for Scotland which I hope enhanced your holiday experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had travelled all day to see family and loved ones and spent the night in the Pitbauchlie Hotel in Dunfermline - an attractive historic city. Our check in was marvellous! We said who we were and immediately a key was given without fuss and completing forms..a really nice change from some other hotels we have stayed in. The room was spacious and clean with a great complimentary tray so a quick much-needed coffee was prepared and drunk. The bathroom was of a generous size and as for the bed - a super king! My 6 feet 2 inch husband who is normally a poor sleeper, had "the best night for ages" on a bed so confortable, he was reluctant to move when the alarm clock rang its insistent bell.
The surroundings were nice and our room overlooked a garden with lovely trees attached to which were bird boxes for theose nesting - a nice touch! overall a satisfying stay. I would have preferred to have had breakfast included in the price and had it been so I am sure my rating would have had an Excellent score.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our “king size” beds were to your liking. We offer a selection of accommodation rates and it is possible to book, bed and breakfast and dinner bed and breakfast deals, which I hope when returning to the hotel you can take advantage of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had our son's wedding reception here and stayed overnight as well. The staff were very attentive and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms we stayed in were clean, comfortable and very nicely decorated. The function room was great and the whole wedding reception was managed very well. It was very reasonably priced and everything was just as we had hoped. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice venue for a function.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay. I am delighted that the hotel fitted the bill so well for your son’s wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a clean well serviced hotel and I would stay here again as I received value for my money. Although it looks a little jaded from the outside don't be deceived internally on the ground floor it is excellent with a nice lounge reception area and one bar and one Bistro.
The corridor's to the rooms again looked jaded but the room was excellent with a working desk and the bonus was Wi-Fi and free throughout (this for me is essential on a business stay and I will not stay if it is not available or free). I ate in the Bistro and the salmon was excellent, on the downside it has a small but old gym, the breakfast was poor although the mistakes made were rectified quickly however the hard poached eggs were not to my liking. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made special mention to our free WiFi and food in the bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel with nice garden surroundings, friendly staff and good dinner in restaurant; breakfast bit poor. Good place if you want to travel by train to Edinburgh. Rooms nothing special, bit noisy with other rooms. Rates reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank your for your positive review, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel was lovely, I was greeted at reception & nothing was too much trouble.
Food was nice & well cooked.
I booked only a single room, but it was comfortable, clean & with a large bathroom.
I would definitely recommend & will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Pitbauchlie House Hotel so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitbauchlie House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.