We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum

Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum
Moodie Street | Fife, Dunfermline KY12 7PL , Scotland
01383 724302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of Andrew Carnegie, the weaver's son who became the richest man in the world and gave his riches away for the benefit of mankind. Interactive displays, monthly weaving demos,temporary exhibitions, children's activities, delightful cafe, garden, gift shop and unique events space all ensure the museum is a fascinating place to visit for all the family. Open March-November, Mon-Sat 10.00-17.00, Sun 14.00-17.00 Free admission, free parking, coach drop-off, disabled facilities, baby changing.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Really interesting and informative display on the life of Andrew Carnegie. Free admission and a great place to spend a few hours. Good for older children upwards.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    33
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Carnegie's Birthplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Interesting place, well laid out and informative guide material and people. Good way to spend an afternoon. Godd place to bring older children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, but better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We actually didn't intend on visiting at all, but after being urged by one of the custodians at Dunfermline, we made the short walk down the hill to the house. Upon entering the house, we really only intended on taking in the gift shop to see if they had any books on Carnegie, but the woman in the shop was insistent that we go through and take a look, so we did.

We began with the part of the house where Carnegie was born and spent his childhood. The automated commentaries were good and the house was left to look much as it did at the time, with several interesting artifacts to look at. The most interesting of these was a weaving loom dating from the 1830s. What was really amazing about the loom was that it was partially automatic and ran on a series of punch cards. I had no idea that that level of technology existed at that time. The more modern exhibit was really great too, and definitely worth a quick visit.

We came away with a much better understanding of the man, not only with his rise to prominence, but his dedication to using his wealth to help others, especially those from his hometown. Definitely worth the visit if you're in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A humbling experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I strayed in here one afternoon to use up an hour and ended up wishing I had the time to stay longer. Was very humbling to see the beginnings of a man who went on to become the worlds second richest man. Would recommend to anyone to visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Often overlooked, this is a great wee place to visit. Fascinating to see the actual cottage Carnegie lived in before going to America and lots of good stuff about his life. I took a friend from Philly (USA) to see it recently (I live in Edinburgh) and they treated her royally. Great for adults and kids and very inspiring.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.