We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value buffet, decor is tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashiq's Fine Indian & Nepalese Cuisine

Ashiq's Fine Indian & Nepalese Cuisine
27 Bridge Street, Dunfermline KY12 8AQ, Scotland
+(44)01383624900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Nepali
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value buffet, decor is tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Attracted by the sandwich board outside advertising the buffet Sunday to Thursday, it really is good value. On Sundays, the kids eat free adn teh adults are around £9, but remember the drinks are cahrged for. The food was very good, decent, and plenty of it. After the mixed meat kebab starter, I was about to go to the buffet and then more starter was offered! Nice little place, Only criticism is that the decor is very dated and tired. The big white coverings on the seats etc are due for a make-over. But the food and service was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    20
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just been tonight with my wife and son who has just arrived back from Bangkok,the food was the freshes cooked Indian food all of us have ever eating in our lives. We as a family will definitely be going back again, highly recommend this restaurant to everyone who loves Indian cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Eat here last night, and can't understand why it isn't ranked much higher. The munu is extensive with a number of original dishes but I deceided to go for the buffet. as I thought at £9.95 it was good value, and it certainly proved to be. Don't know if it was because it was a week night or quiet but they did not have the food sitting out on hotplates. Instead everything was made to order. After begining with a piclke tray I was seved a plate of mixed starters ( could have fed 2, but all for me). Things only got better as I was given the choice of several curries and picked two. These came with rice & nan, and while smaller than a regular main, was plenty with both. My favourite of the 2 was the Lamb Rogan Josh which was superb. Had I want A la carte I reckon I would have paid at least double. Not just a bargain but quality food also. Will certainly be back next time I visit Dunfermline

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best by Far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have visited ASHIQS many times in the last year and it truly is wonderful experience for your taste buds! In my opion the best indian i have ever been too! The lunch menu is large and every curry I have had so far has been outstanding! The garlic nan is something special! Also the buffet nights during the week are excellent value for money and the staff are very friendly , Ram the owner is great he can't do enough for you, if you want more tikka or anything else it's promptly cooked up and served to you! Also my girlfriend is a vegetarian and Ram always makes sure that she can have anything she wants of the menu cooked with veggies of course, much appreciated mate! Keep up the good work will be back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This weekend my family and I had another visit to Ashiq's for the lunch time special and once again it didn't disappoint.

Ram is, unquestionably, one of the friendliest restaurant owners you'll come across and the rest of the waiting staff are a credit to him.

The lunch menu is superb and you can get 3 courses for as little as £6.50 per head which is cracking value. My wife enjoys the heat of the Chicken Masander dish and I always go for the Madras which is every bit as tasty as it is hot - i.e. very !

If you're looking for a good Indian meal in Dunfermline then I would honestly say that this is your best bet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashiq's Fine Indian & Nepalese Cuisine also viewed

 
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to Ashiq's Fine Indian & Nepalese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashiq's Fine Indian & Nepalese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.