We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some serenity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sundial Cafe

The Sundial Cafe
11 Academy Square, Dunfermline, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 137 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Some serenity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Quiet when we visited -- relaxing interior -- prices not too bad -- good quality and fair range of choices -- ideal for a relaxing coffee or a tasty lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An Excellent Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Passed through Limekilns on a damp Sunday and saw a sign for this cafe so decided to stop. We weren't disappointed!! Good freshly prepared food and lovely coffee. The staff were very friendly. Will definitely visit again, probably on a dry day and we can have a little walk around the lovely village.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife, scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited here recently with my husband and 2 young children, cafe lovely and cakes delicious. Reasonably priced too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quaint and quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Not much in Limekilns, but am sure this place will do ok - especially at the weekends and during the summer. Lots of character and did a decent coffee and tea, as well as tea cake and some tray bakes for the kids.

We ate upstairs, which was nice. Service was good and kids loved the hot chocolate, cream and marshmallows. Not been for breakfast, but my wife and I will try it again soon. If you're in Limekilns or Charlestown, pop in, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“an excellent wee place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

an unplanned visit as our intended venue was full, but didn't disappoint. Good food freshly prepared, lovely surroundings, friendly staff. Couldn't ask for more when looking for a warming lunch on a bracing day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sundial Cafe also viewed

 
Dunfermline, Fife
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to The Sundial Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sundial Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.