We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvenated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limekilns Hotel and Bistro

Limekilns Hotel and Bistro
38 Main St | Limekilns, Dunfermline KY11 3HL, Scotland
+44 1383 872999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 148 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: European, Family Fare, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Rejuvenated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Formerly Il Pescatore the restaurant has now successfully re-invented themselves. Family friendly and a good variety on the menu primarily Italian style.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at a fair price topped off with a friendly atmosphere and very efficient staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

A lovely looking wee restaurant and hotel that doesnt dissapoint! The staff were very friendly and welcoming from the start and throughout. I had a duck pizza roll which was a first experience for me and one I intend to try again!!
10/10

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Friendly professional service given with a smile. A great menu including blackboard specials. I will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Seek it out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We used to visit this restaurant when it was the Il Pescatore Ristorante before the next generation took over and kept it in the family. The revamp hasn't changed much inside although the carpet is gone and it still has the Italian setting from the previous incarnation. The biggest changes are to the menu which offers a widespread selection from Indian starters to burgers and a children's menu is also now available.

As an Italian it offered good home cooking at attractive prices with generous helpings and good service. These strengths I'm pleased to say continue but with more variety in the menu its all good and should appeal to many more, or it deserves to. The pakora was surprising; fresh and balanced and not seeping in oil. My own selection from the daily specials board was Gnocchi with bacon, spinach and cream sauce. These were excellent, wonderfully soft and coated in a rich sauce, the best I've had. The others starters of soup and bruschetta delivered flavour and satisfaction; easy dishes to mess up, difficult to get right.

The mains included a chicken riso with leaks, bacon & ham pasta and a chunky pizza wrap. Riso was interesting as it wasn't a risotto (hence the name) and you could mix the rice into the dish. I almost went for the smoked haddock risotto (another special) and you certainly don't lack for choice in the menu. They also passed the test when we asked for something to be substituted on a dish, which is great and appreciated.

The pizza wrap was generously filled and worked well with the salsa. Really its all about the flavours here in a relaxed environment and decent prices. The wine, beer and soft drinks are all attractively priced making the drive down to Limekilns worthwhile. The sticky toffee pudding (the benchmark of all restaurants) rounded off an enjoyable experience with plenty of sauce and a great heap of ice cream. The bill also prompted some debate on our journey home as it was so reasonable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A family run bistro with rooms. You are looked after and treated as if one of the family. Prices are reasonable, rooms and meals are generous, hospitality is faultless.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limekilns Hotel and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Limekilns Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limekilns Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.