We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crossford, Dunfermline KY12 8NN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon Couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was proud to purchase an overnight stay for my friends as a wedding present. They were absolutely delighted with their stay and with the care and attention they received from all the staff there, especially the lovely manager Mr Bruce. They were highly impressed with the standard of the room and with the beautiful food too. I can't be more happy with the tirade of complements they had for the hotel on their return. Thank You Keavil House Hotel ! x

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel, they will do all they can to accommodate your requirements. That's service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    172
    65
    15
    9
See reviews for
115
218
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel in August 2013 as part of a wedding party and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff on reception were extremely helpful, really friendly and made us feel very welcome. The twim room was a decent size, clean looking and comfortable however, two problems we had were the musty smell on entering the room and the heat!!!! it was baking in the room (triple glazed windows probably didn't help!) and the window only opened up a fraction. Beware, there is NO air con in the room!!! The hotel did provide a small fan but it was very noisy and didn't really suffice. Our room was not totally sound proof, and it had an adjoining room which was locked on both sides, but we could still hear our neighbours coughing!!! Admittedly this was abit off putting. The restaurant staff were really pleasant and the breakfast catered for everyone from a selection of cereals to the full English/Scottish! Warm pastries were delicious :) The grounds were pretty and peaceful and the location is ideal as a base to travel from when visiting the surrounding area. Overall it was a pleasant stay thanks to the staff, and apart from the hot rooms I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, the room we had was clean and spacious. The staff were all friendly. We attended a wedding which was beautiful. We had dinner one night which was excellent and buffet breakfast in the morning which was also very good.
I used the spa facilities, swimming pool, jacuzzi, Sauna, steam room which was very relaxing and enjoyable.
The only complaint I would have is the noise, we could hear people in the corridors banging, and in the morning, the noise outside woke us up, you could hear people's conversations in th car park. Overall we had a very enjoyable time away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was a birthday present and a stopover from a holiday near Inverness to brake the journey home. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome. The main problem was with noise from the wedding guests on the Saturday night loud voices in the corridors, door banging every half an hour or so the last was at about 3:30 am and the television in the next room being on to 2:00am loud enough for me to hear. I think this is a problem for a number of hotels who cater for weddings. The Sunday night was nice and quiet. With regard to cleanliness may be the staff should check what a guest can see if they have a bath rather than a shower because some areas needed cleaning. The view from our room window across the rolling hills was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at short notice overnight on a Saturday in early September.

It was dark when we arrived, and I was - unusually - relying on Sat Nav. The address is fine, but what you need to know is that Main Street stretches from one side of Fife to the other. We joined half way along and turned the wrong way. Even when we did find the right village, we missed the signage - it is there, but less obvious at night: the hotel is a good way off the main road, down a dark lane that gives the driver (and his passenger) an uneasy feeling of "this can't be right" - only the speed bumps suggest a drive with purpose. SO, if you're coming by taxi in the dark, don't worry, you're not about to be mugged!

I've stayed in one or two BWs down the years - typically they're older buildings, less obviously purpose built than a HIlton / Holiday Inn etc. This one has an old core, but with some sizeable bolt-on bedroom wings. If you're right on the wing then it's not quite a belfry hotel-esque walk to another county, but to be charitable it's at least well away form any noise in the bar.

We arrived very late and left early, but had time for a drink in the bar (smallish, and rather dominated by a wedding party); and then breakfast the following morning. Arriving amongst the first we got the best of this but the spread was good: range of fresh / tinned fruit; cereals; pastries; ham and cheese; cooked options. We passed on the cooked, but this was buffet rather than waiter service, and on the basis of a scan looked okay - though it might have been tired a couple of hours later.

The bedroom was a good size twin, warm, quiet.

Grounds are voice; and there'a health club / gymn - though again we didn't sample either.

Only quibble was with the bill on the way out. We'd had four drinks on two receipts, but the staff had rather generously decided to allocate a couple more - one was signed with a signature that could hardly have been less like mine had Micky Mouse tried to sign for it; the other was unsigned. I was pleased they hadn't charged for warming my malt whisky - though such was the temperature they'd have been forgiven for doing so. An illuminated display cabinet is all very well, but I prefer my whisky ambient, not tropical!

This was sorted without objection (though an unseen head was heard to note that "that'll be coming off someone's wages then), and but for the fact that my mate had a rush to get a plane I'd have enquired why the decision had been taken to try to allocate these tabs to my bill - there were other people in the bar at the same late hour buying drinks.

Overall though, more or less what you'd expect for this sort of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

went to keavil house for a nice quiet romantic break and we were not disappointed.

From the minute that we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome and the service that we received from girl at reception was second to none.

Our room was fantastic and the spa facilities were great as well and we made use of all the area at the health club.

The staff in all area's from bar staff to waiting staff both at dinner and at breakfast were the most friendliest staff I have ever came across. All the food was beautiful and well presented.

On the evening we arrived there was a wedding and a ruby wedding on going and even though there was large numbers of people going about we were not disturbed once it was all well managed and you would not know that there was two events on going everything was handled in such a professional manor.

I would highly recommend this hotel and spa and I have to say the friendliness of the staff is a credit to manager and also the staff themselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Visit this hotel about once a month and over the years there have been a few changes but the standard remains reasonably high. It seems to do well for weddings and so may be busier during the weekends but when I visit during the week it is usually well frequented but not too busy. Has a nice pool and gym and staff are always helpful and friendly. The menu in the restaurant doesn't change too often and for regular visitors this may be a challenge but the quality is still good

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel

Address: Crossford, Dunfermline KY12 8NN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel near Dunfermline with a health & leisure spa and wedding & conference facilities. High quality, individually designed bedrooms. Extensive gardens. Enjoy casual gourmet food in Cardoon Restaurant or relax in the Picture of Health Club & Spa. The club offers a swimming pool, toddlers pool, sauna, steam, extensive gym, exercise studio and spa treatments. Free internet access and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keavil Hotel
Best Western Dunfermline
Dunfermline Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Keavil House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.