We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston's Bar Bistro

Johnston's Bar Bistro
14 Lint Riggs, Falkirk FK1 1DG, Scotland
01324 637299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 115 restaurants in Falkirk
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Johnston's Bar - Bistro Open 7 days a week 9am - 1am Large comfortable lounge, modern spacious bar & mezzanine restaurant Fresh tea and coffee to sit in or take away, 9am - 12am Freshly prepared food served daily, 12pm - 9pm Large selection of wines, beers, spirits & soft drinks, 11am - 1am
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A little gem in the heart of Falkirk. Service is excellent and the food is well prepared and presented. Menu is varied and they are happy to accommodate personal preferences. they also make a mean cocktail.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    126
    39
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to Johnston's for a family outing. The service and food were both excellent. I had the scallops to start, the seabass for my main and the rhubarb creme brulee for dessert. All were very tasty and served promptly. The staff are very attentive; I asked for a cocktail which they didn't have on the menu and they were very obliging and made it for me. I'd highly recommend this bar bistro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Check it out folks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a nice Saturday night here with some friends. The food and service was excellent and I'd recommend it strongly. I thought it was very reasonably priced, and in general - a relaxing, cool place to be in. Get yourself along there and check it out

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“What an improvement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I had an excellent experience this time, the staff were so attentive and polite! Tea and chips were good too but I was very impressed at how the staff have improved. The decor is also much better with a bit of an update :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went to dinner with another couple and we had a great time. The food was delicious and the portions were plentiful. Even better, the staff were very friendly and attentive and the prices were reasonable. There was a great atmosphere on the night and a great time was had. We will certainly be back to try out more of the menu and to get a double order of churros! They were awesome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston's Bar Bistro also viewed

 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to Johnston's Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston's Bar Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.