We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Park Hotel
Glasgow Road, Falkirk, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 115 restaurants in Falkirk
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We booked our table and when we arrived we were our table was located in a corner. The service was average and the food was decidedly small sized portions and choice was limited. I wouldn`t go back there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    9
    11
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is part of a trio of restaurants in the Falkirk area which all operate on the same basis. Good wholesome food on a budget. The menu is relatively limited but you should find something to suit everyone including vegetarians but hceck first. Of the three this is the smallest venue and the smartest. Service is good and prompt, which I prefer but may not suit others who prefer a more relaxed approach. To get a three course meal for ten pounds is cheaper than most takeways. Therefore I would guess it is all about numbers through the door.
The menu changes throught out the year but I usually go for the steak pie, always popular, served in a pie dish with a thick layer of puff pastry on the top. When we have relatives visiting it makes an inexpensive meal out, less hassle than cooking yourself. My wife and I often eat here for convenience but not if it was a for special (romantic) occaision.
So for a cheap family/friends meal out the Park fits the bill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went for dinner after visiting the Falkirk Wheel. It was a five minute drive from the Wheel and near the Mariner Centre. It was terrific. Nice surroundings, lovely and warm, great food and excellent service. Really surprised as we were not expecting too much at £10 per head. We were a party of 9 with five being children. The kids menu was £6.50 and was great value and good quality too. Would definitely recommend it. Couldn't believe how good it was and we are still talking about it a week later.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good value for money, perfect for a family celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

16 of us were celebrating a family birthday.
It was all good. No problem with service, food or anything else. We did have the place to ourselves on Sunday afternoon but it was just perfect for a family get together.
Very good value at £10 a head for a 3 course meal. The menu was varied but not exciting and everyone was able to pick something they enjoyed.
Would recommend this for families.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Hotel also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.