We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONCE AGAIN A PLEASURE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriden House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falkirk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriden House
Save
You added Carriden House to your Saves list
Falkirk EH51 9SN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Falkirk
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ONCE AGAIN A PLEASURE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Twice a year we stay here, We usually stay in 4 star hotels for business and are experienced B&Bers for leisure.

Great views, quiet charm, long walks,historic location peace & quiet log fires and friendly atmosphere

Convenient for Falkirk & Edinburgh breaks. Ideal romantic get away

Sounds too good to be true- maybe it is, which is why it does for us

Ok, so the corridors may be a tad on the coolside in May but it's Scotland! and I'd rather not be the one paying the heating bill

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

A different class from the rest, a stunning building that looks right over the River Forth and sits on land of its own away from the noisy nightlife.
The hosts at Carriden house are just A1, you could not meet nicer people.

The rooms are honest and clean , and that is all i ask from any hotel.
Good breakfast.
Peaceful and pleasant.

I have been to Carriden House 3 times with guests and all my guests have been delighted. Highly reccomend to anyone visiting Bo'ness or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We have been traveling to Scotland every year since 1995 and for the past few years, we have stayed at the Carriden House, either at the beginning or the end of the trip. And, we always look forward to our next visit. We look for upscale accommodations, but with history and character. The Carriden House is perfect. It is a small castle with beautiful views of the Firth of Forth. We book far enough ahead that we usually get the four poster room, but the others are lovely as well. And we like the place and the owners so much that we have taken a fair number of friends and relatives with us. The owners refurbish as they can, so we have seen the huge library/parlor get new paint and the wonderful plaster work on the ceiling restored. Breakfast is always delicious, and there is always more than enough to fortify us for a long morning of doing the things we love. The owners are friendly and helpful, and by now they seem like friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We stayed at the Carriden as part of a family vacation. The place was easy to find given the map on their website, but the access road is a bit on the poorly maintained side. That aside, once you are there, you'll find Carriden House an interesting place. It's a huge house at a lovely location. You can walk down to the beach on the Forth Rive in 5 minutes, or along the beach to Blackness Castle (~40 minutes) or further if you like. A really ace spot.

We had a room on the 2nd floor (3rd floor to those in the US) and I wouldn't recommend those rooms to anyone with accessibility issues as you have to go up a cement spiral staircase (like many castles), but those on the 1st floor were just up some simple, wide stairs. Our family occupied 4 rooms, all of which were amazingly spacious; probably the largest of any B&B or hotel I've stayed in. That was very nice as we stayed there for 6 days. The bathrooms were all nice, clean, good water pressure. Breakfasts were good, hearty and cooked to order. There is wireless in the sitting room which is great, and the sitting room itself made for a wonderful meeting place for our family.

The proprietor, Barbara, was more than helpful and accommodating. She gave several suggestions on places to eat and places to visit. The location is nice, but you'd definitely need a car here. You can drive to Linlithgow in ~10 minutes to take the 20 minute train ride into Edinburgh's Waverly Station and save yourself the hassle of parking in Edinburgh. It's a great central location for exploring Edinburgh as well as Stirling, Falkirk and even Glasgow. I would definitely recommend Carriden to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed here June 26, 2008 as part of our driving vacation through Scotland. The room was very nicely decorated and had lovely views. The grounds are nice to walk through with nice garden areas. There is an interesting overgrown cemetery next to it which was fascinating to walk through and reflect. The breakfast was very good, and the staff very friendly. The only drawbacks I could think of is the conservatory entrance was a little run down, but it wasn't bad at all. Also, getting to the place was difficult as the gravel road was potholed and it wasn't well signposted. But all in all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noble, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Carriden House our last two nights in Scotland. As others have stated, it was somewhat hard to find (my GPS was confused!) but eventually we found the place and never had a problem getting back.

We stayed in the 4 poster room which was large and lovely. It was a bit chilly but we snuggled to keep warm:) Breakfast was made to order and very tasty. The plumbing did have a mind of its own (hot hot hot water!) but the bathroom was very clean.

The owner was very kind and recommended a delicious Italian restaurant in town (we returned twice...yes, it was that good!) The housekeeper was super nice and we enjoyed our visit with her.

Since we had an early flight out of Edinburgh, the location could not have been better.

If we ever get a chance to return to Carriden House, we will!
(The cemetery creeped me out a bit, but it just added to the experience!)

Thank you Carriden House from Joe & Kari in Oklahoma!

  • Liked — The surroundings, location, room, etc.
  • Disliked — The hot water had a mind of its own!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

This is an oldfashioned guest house in part of an old manor house. Dont expect flash. It had a bit of a 'granny' vibe about it but the rooms were large, the staff and owners friendly and helpful and the breakfast very nice. There is wireless internet in the drawing room and plenty of parking.
A nice stop outside of Edinburgh.

  • Liked — Old and comfy
  • Disliked — Potholes on the road
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriden House

Address: Falkirk EH51 9SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Falkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Carriden Hotel Falkirk
Carriden House Falkirk, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.