We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“evening dinner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Toll Tavern

Auld Toll Tavern
85 Dalgrain Road | Grangemouth, Falkirk FK3 8HL , Scotland
01324 482859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 114 Restaurants in Falkirk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“evening dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Place seems a bit run down. Toilet door didn't work and the place seems to be uncared for. Meal was ok for the price but very basic. It's not somewhere I would go back to.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I visited on a Saturday night. We had to book and luckily managed to get a table at short notice as there was a live band playing. The food was absolutely fantastic-I would certainly recommend trying one of the steaks and you'd be mad not to try the chocie overkill for pud!! Service was very warm and welcoming. A really great night was had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedding day 25thjune 2009”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

On our wedding day we had our reception at the old toll tavern nothing was to much trouble for Robert & Rachael it was a lovely day.We always visit when in Scotland.We have already booked for Christmas lunch on the 25thDecember with family.Any one that visits will not be disapointed with either food or staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Myself and a work colleague have been going to the Auld Toll for “many moons” for a Friday bar lunch and we have never been disappointed. The food is of a high standard and plentiful and apart from the main menu there is always a great selection of daily specials. Staff & owners are always friendly.

I cannot understand why it is not busier !! - get down to the Auld Toll and sample it for yourself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by the cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited on 19th October for late lunch after reading reviews and were not disappointed. The outside does look very tired but once inside, the place was decked out for Halloween which was pretty impressive. They obviously get right into the spirit of things (pardon the pun). The service was very quick and the staff nice and pleasant. We both got steak sizzlers with pepper sauce, chips, tomato and mushrooms. For £8.95, it was excellent value. Steak was tasty as were the chips. I wouldn't normally comment on chips but there was just something about them. Could've done with a few more mushrooms mind you. Anyway, for value, service and ambience I would give a 4.5 if I could. A quick, hassle free visit left us satisfied and ready for home. Oh and my other half said it was a very nice pint of Tennents! Thanks Auld Toll

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auld Toll Tavern also viewed

Grangemouth, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Grangemouth, Falkirk District
 

Been to Auld Toll Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Toll Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.