We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLAIN HOME STYLE COOKING” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dutch Inn

The Dutch Inn
Main Street | Skinflats, Falkirk FK2 8NU, Scotland
01324-483015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 120 Restaurants in Falkirk
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“PLAIN HOME STYLE COOKING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

In appearance the Inn is quite dated, but it's all very clean and tidy. This cleanliness included the toilets, which I believe is often a good indication of kitchen cleanliness!

We went with the menu of the day. All agreed that it was good plain home style food which was very tasty and served piping hot. The pace of service was just right with a nice break between courses. This is certainly no gastro pub, but we all enjoyed our meal and felt that it was good value.

Regrettably the staff didn't match up to the food! I wouldn't say that they were bad, but they definitely gave me the impression that they were there because they had to be; most positive I could say would be lacklustre.

I would go back if I'm ever in Falkirk, but will make a point of speaking directly to the management with my views, as they don't appear to respond to the comments posted.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    44
    20
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Dutch inn for lunch after a walk around helix park as it is situated close by. Upon arrival it was busy but we were seated and attended to promptly. Staff were friendly and helpful. I had steak pie and my husband had chicken highlander both of which were fab (good home style cooking)
We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Food very basic will not go back again total waste of money! Used to go here a lot with family but for sure we will not return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food & great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten here before, I thought it was about time I said how much I enjoy it!
The food is fresh and hot and quickly brought to the table. Mind you, not too quickly, so you know it's fresh and not reheated!
Friendly staff and lovely food.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Visited this restaurant at the weekend, my first visit, and sadly I was disappointed. The Starter of breaded mushrooms in garlic mayo was very nice. Main course of chicken with haggis and whiskey sauce was not nice at all. I have had this dish often in other restaurants and it is a favourite of mine. Sadly it had a sythethic taste and the sauce was not nice at all, cannot even describe the flavour of the sauce. The sweet sounded exotic on the menu, but was very run of the mill, nothing special at all. I barely eat a quarter of my main meal, neither did a relative who had a different dish. When the plates were collected no-one asked if everything had been OK with the meal - which is not very professional. Will never be back and would not recommend it to any friends who have not been before. (I know this restaurant is popular in general and I suppose if you just like run of the mill "pub grub" a lot of people will be happy with it).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dutch Inn also viewed

Polmont, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Dutch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dutch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.