We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food,great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kismot

Kismot
29 St. Leonards Street, Edinburgh EH8 9QN, Scotland
0131 667 0123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wee Family run Indian and Bangladeshi restaurant.Mum and Dad cooking with the kids at the front of house.Bring your own bottle (no corkage charge, wine and beer only)Food cooked and served with alot of love and affection.Try our mums homestyle cooking chicken and lamb on the bone (what we have for dinner at home !) Dont forget the chocolate nan bread and other dishe's only available at our place my friends ! ! ! :)Open every day 4.30pm to 11.30pm
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food,great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Loved the fact you could bring your own bottle, also the service was great- attentive, warm and friendly. The food was lovely although disappointed I was too full to try the chocolate naan at the end. Excellent quality of pickle tray- loved the lime pickle.good atmosphere, someone was trying the killer curry and everybody enjoyed watching that. Would definitely go back

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello there

Thank you for your review!

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience with us, shame you were too full to try the chocolate naan, maybe next time you can save some room for it!

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,453
    221
    78
    45
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Walked in with no reservation on Wed 16April at 8.30pm was busy but seated straight away. Awful smell of varnish which was very strong but the food was amazing and delivered to us very quickly. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello there

Thank you for the great review! First off we are extremely sorry about the smell of varnish! Very glad you enjoyed your evening otherwise!

Hope to see you back, and thanks again.

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was taken to the Kismot as a birthday treat by my sister and brother in law after being told by them that they had a great experience the last time they had visited.

I had never been to a BYOB restaurant we arrived with our supply of bottles of beer how ever had to ask for a bottle opener ( would have thought that piece of equipment would be available with out asking ) how ever did arrive. Table water was asked for which was not forthcoming until the second request.

The service of the meal was efficient and the quality of the food average.

The most uncomfortable part of the experience came when at 10pm the staff and owner started to stack chairs and tables around our table as they where clearly trying to close, we had checked previously and had established that last orders where 10.30pm.

Did not finish our meal - took it away in cartons would have been better getting a delivery or take away.

Kismot needs to remind itself that customer service and delivery is as important as the delivery of the quality of food

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Eaten here before when it was fairly quiet. had a great meal. This evening food ordinary, my chicken pakora starter was luke warm but I ate it. Main was lamb madras lovely and hot but not as good as last time, lamb delicious. Have eaten better though, in Glasgow and Manchester. Return?Maybe not.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello there

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations the second time around. We understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but mistakes will always be made unfortunately as we are only human, so we can only apologize.

Maybe you caught us on an off day and if you do decide to return to us hopefully we can give you the same evening as your first time around.

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We took my brother for a birthday meal after visiting this place last year. We arrived shortly after 9 and it was pretty quiet. We finished our starters and although it was tasty we found it rather average and there appeared to be lots of food colouring in the kebabs. We were shortly into our mains - my husband had a lamb madras which he found nice - though my chicken tikka meal arrived at about 100 degrees and the chicken less than tender! The main issue was the fact the staff started clearing, cleaning, sweeping and spraying around us - we felt uncomfortable and not relaxed at all. In fact we were quite annoyed and although they all kept apologising, we asked for our meal to be boxed up so we could have it another time in a more relaxed setting! We won't be returning - I do feel they have become so popular with trip advisor they have become a victim of their own success. Really disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello there

We are extremely sorry to have read your review and seen that you did not enjoy yourselves. If you had let us know about the problems with your food we would of been happy to help in some way.

As for the cleaning around your table and making you feel uncomfortable, we will have to have a word with all our staff to ensure this type of thing never happens in future - and for this we are very sorry.

Thank you for dining with us nonetheless, and if you do ever return hopefully we can show you a different evening.

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kismot also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kismot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kismot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.