We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, great atmosphere, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanedan

Hanedan
West Preston Street, Edinburgh, Scotland (South Side)
131 667 4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $20 - $29
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South Side
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great restaurant, great atmosphere, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Easily my favourite restaurant in Edinburgh. The food is fantastic. It is a small restaurant and can be really busy so its best to reserve a table - especially on the weekends. I just travelled through Asia, Australia, New Zealand and the USA and i couldn't find any Turkish food as good as that in Hanedan. We always order a few starters between us: the hummus, feta salad and the meatballs are our favourite; this also comes with all you can eat pita bread. The feta cheese is unbelievably creamy and all of the meat is so juicy - I recommend the chicken or the lamb. But I can never choose between the meats, so I usually have the mixed grill. Also, even the rice is tasty - I don't know how you can make rice tasty, but they do it. I look forward to eating here every time I make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    40
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visited with a group of business colleagues - fortunately we had booked.
Very attentive staff, Turkish menu with a few nice twists, and great value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Informal, inexpensive, atmospheric.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We dined at Hanedan on Saturday evening a week ago. Managed to get the last table - it's always worth booking here. The menu is relatively simple but everything we had was excellent quality.
The shared meze was a great starter with a taste of everything. After various lamb and chicken dishes - all succulent - all we could manage to finish was to share 1 helping of baklava.
All this plus drinks and mint tea came to £80 for a party of 4. And the friendly, warm-hearted atmosphere is thrown in for free! HIghly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A very decent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dropped in for lunch without any great expectations and we felt we'd got lucky. The two of us had two starters and a main to share - a very good plate of squid (not battered, just nicely fried) with a walnut salad, a vg plate of diced lamb's liver cooked with onion and sumac, and a vg sis kebab with the usual trimmings. Service was very good, friendly and helpful. Would happily go again, and probably will next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant little restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner and I have been here a few times and each time it has been a great meal.

It is a cosy little restuarant and during weekends I would recommend booking.

The menu is focused on Turkish food and althought there are not a huge range of dishes, I have tried most of them and they are all excellent.

The service has always been good and the staff are warm and welcoming.

Great value and it is a relaxed atmosphere. The Turkish coffee is a must (if you like strong coffee).

Will be back here many times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanedan also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hanedan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanedan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.