We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal @ excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
St. John's Road, Edinburgh EH12 8AX, Scotland
+44 131 334 8235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #587 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Edinburgh West. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Edinburgh’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Keighley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great meal @ excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

First class carvery meal, choice of 4 meats (all if you wanted)
Eight choices of veg and mash or roasts with a large yorkshire pudding.
Plenty of graveys and sauces to top off or enhance the meal.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    81
    39
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Straight forward and simple but works”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Been so many times, great home cooked food that hits the button time after time. They are being crafty now offering you a bigger portion for and extra couple of pound but I normally overstock on the veg so don't bother with it. Also kids under 2 eat free

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Office Christmas do was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Christmas do's with the office can be a nightmare with cramped accomodation, slow, inattentive service and poor overpriced food. Not so this time. The experience started at 4 pm and we were well looked after. The crackers were good quality as well and we had a lovely time, exceeding my expectations. About 18 people at 3 different tables close enought to communicate but with plenty of room to move about. Obviously, being buffet you need to be able to do so. The food was excellend and I was 'stuffed'. Impressed, well done!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“just what we were after”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visitied after arriving in Edinburgh wanting a quick meal. Even though it was a busy friday night we only had to wait 30 mins for a table. the staff were good fun and the food was tasty and plentiful. cant knock it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Voucher deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Used our two carvery meals voucher. Good food and plenty of it too. This Toby Carvery just before the zoo on Corstorphine Rd. Pleasant staff too !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.