We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loch Lomond Day Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Line Scotland Ltd

Gray Line Scotland Ltd
81 Salamander Street | Leith, Edinburgh EH54 8QN, Scotland
+44 131 555 5558
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #83 of 269 Activities in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line offers sightseeing tours around Scotland. Edinburgh, Scotland's Capital City and arguably one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Historic yet vibrant with cultural and culinary delights and architecturally stunning. Using Edinburgh as a base we take you round Scotland where Landscapes can change quite dramatically in 30 minutes. Guaranteeing a kaleidoscope of memories in just one day. We can collect you from your hotel or guest house to begin your journey.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Loch Lomond Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Speaking as a qualified tour guide myself, may I say what a brilliant and highly professional job Brian our driver-guide did on this tour, informative while still being very friendly. We had a comprehensive and entertaining commentary throughout, and good stops. The Loch Lomond boat trip fitted into the schedule very well too, with its quiet beauty, but the highlight for us and our daughter was Stirling Castle. The recreation of the rooms and life in the 16th century was great (and the information historically authentic - not a 'dumbed down' version!), the place full of colour as it would have been then, and with costumed interpreters, plus music of the time to add atmosphere - it even tempted us to join in a medieval dance!
A great day out - the only criticism is that the music played on the coach system was very quiet, yet an important part of Brian's commentary.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland Ltd, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    48
    21
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scenic 3 day trip within Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Brian Joyce is the man to look out for when you embark on a journey to Scotland. He is an absolutely amazing person who is exceptionally rich in knowledge and knows about everything in Scotland. We started our tour from Edinburg, heading towards Inverness through Glencoe, stopping for a cruise into the Loch Ness and overnight at Inverness and then on towards Isle of Skye the next day spending the night in Fort Williams and then back to Edinburg via Oban and Glasgow. It was a fantastic experience for both of us as we saw some extraordinary scenic views of Scotland and learnt a lot about their rich culture. Brian didnt allow me to sleep at all in the journey as he was so beautifully narrating the history of each place we passed and the importance of each city we saw. Next time i am coming back with my parents and will book Grayline for sure with Brian.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland Ltd, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us and Brian some amazing feedback. I will make sure Brian knows how much you enjoyed his tour and we look forward to welcoming you and your family onboard in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best tour guide!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We did the three day tour of the Highlands and Skye - John was the best tour guide ever! He was exceptionally knowledgeable about Scotland and was always helpful and respectful of everyone. John showed us an appreciation for Scotland that makes us want to visit again, soon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland Ltd, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Day trip to loch Lomond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a day trip by coach to Loch Lomond from Edinburgh, stopping off briefly at Glasgow, and including a boat trip on Loch Lomond. Trip was well-organised, Loch Lomond was beautiful and the driver was informative. Stirling Castle was a bit disappointing, there isn't much there, just the Argyll Regiment Museum, but a trip worth going on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland Ltd, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loch Ness day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We took our friends from Malaysia to Scotland for a 3 day mini break.
This included this one day trip to Loch Ness.
We had a great time and the driver did a great job.
If you don't have much time, this is a fantastice way to get a 'taste' (as our driver so rightly said) of the highlands.
We would do this again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrayLineScotland, Tours Consultant at Gray Line Scotland Ltd, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your taste of the Highlands and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Scotland Ltd also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line Scotland Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Line Scotland Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.