We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yum Yum HK Diner

Yum Yum HK Diner
13 West Richmond St, Edinburgh EH8 9EF, Scotland (South Side)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,444 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: South Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South Side
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yum yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This cafe has become a regular dining place for my partner and I. As he is half Chinese we have visited a lot of Chinese resteraunts and cafes we have got to know the better places and this is one! The food is fab, quick and cheap. My partner who has been to Hong Kong has said that it is very authentic! As I am going there in July I hope to find this too and I am looking forward to trying the food if this is what it is like.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finally! A place with decent Chinese grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A fussy eater most of the time, I found this gem tucked along a side street. I needed something other than the typical MSG packed westernised Chinese takeaway. This place fits the bill. I had the duck egg congee and steam rice with the three roasts. My belly was satisfied. I will certainly be making more regular trips in the near future. I heard that this place made the typical Hong Kong egg tart, but unfortunately I've been told I'm a few years too late. Nevertheless, it must be doing something right if it is packed full of Chinese students from the local university across the road. I give it a 4 rating because it lacked the egg tarts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't understand how this place has such good reviews!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I ate here once, and never again! Food was greasy, starchy, MSG-laden and quite honestly borderline indelible. On top of it all, waiters were rude and irritable. Good Chinese food is scarce in Edinburgh, and this establishment is at the bottom of that barrel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty, fresh food, fast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Visited here at Easter. Went in because it was near to where we were staying.

Food was great, prepared quickly.

The bill was a nice surprise - very reasonable.

Would definitely visit here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

On my one visit, average food - shredded fried chicken a bafflingly unearthly luminous orange colour, ribs in gloopy sauce practically impossible to eat with either chopsticks or bare hands, good fried rice, and an utterly repulsive drink called Honey Lime which was like slightly tangy dishwater slops, complete with scum. Unsmiling stone-faced service, which you sometimes expect in Chinese restaurants but can excuse when the food is good, which it wasn't.

It's a small place and - in relation to what others have said - does usually seem well-populated by Chinese people. I'm willing to accept it has charms that eluded me that one time but I hesitate to go back. If I did, maybe I'd try something recommended by others here, plus avoid the honey lime drink.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum Yum HK Diner also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Yum Yum HK Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yum Yum HK Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.