We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MUMS Great Comfort Food

MUMS Great Comfort Food
4a Forrest Road, Edinburgh EH1 2QN, Scotland (South Side)
+44 131 260 9806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 1,826 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South Side
edinburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Filling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I have been here 3 times. Sometimes the food seems a bit lacking in taste but I would rather add seasoning myself than have it over seasoned.
The staff are very nice and friendly.
Love the real ale they serve. Its fantastic.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    213
    111
    21
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service, Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mums came to me highly recommended & certainly did not disappoint. Had the fish & chips and a Volcano IPA which were reasonably priced and deeee-licious! Server was feisty, funny, and wonderfully prompt. Great atmosphere and great location!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SAUSAGES!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great value for food and beer - wonderful service.
Huge range of sausages and pies with lots of different types of mash and gravy.

Go - you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Proper comfort food worth seeking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We ate here twice in a three night stay having read a recommendation in a guide book. It was a 15 minute walk from our hotel and despite the snow flurries it was worth walking beyond the Royal Mile. It is a small place and very informal but we loved the comics, the soundtrack and the presence of Chorlton and the Wheelies stuck on the TV screen (sent me straight back to childhood).
Food was excellent - burgers, haggis, sausage and mash over the two nights. All very good, as well as the starters and dessert. Food was very reasonably priced and all very tasty. Staff were very friendly and efficient.
We would recommend this for proper comfort food, well done and good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simple awesomeness that sometimes you just want!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I ate here one evening of a romantic mini break and it was great. We'd spent a few nights eating in trendy restaurants but sometimes you just want a good plateful.
The staff couldn't have been nicer, great banter with every customer.
Food was simply as its namesake; great comfort food. Spoilt for choice with sausages. mash and gravy were delicious too.
Would definitely recommend this place and I will definitely go again because I have to try and work my way through the monumental list of sausages!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MUMS Great Comfort Food also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to MUMS Great Comfort Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MUMS Great Comfort Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.