We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fuss Gluten Free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wok & Wine - CLOSED

Wok & Wine
57a Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH21LH, Scotland (New Town)
0131 225 2382
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: New Town
scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“No fuss Gluten Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great range on a dedicated 'gluten free' menu - the choice of GF food seems to have grown since our last visit. Pleasant, helpful staff and great meal

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A first class eating experience! Food was excellent, atmosphere perfect and staff very pleasant, professional and attentive . . . . without being intrusive. Loved the complimentary dim sum, prawn crackers and cinnamon ice cream. Have recommended to all our family and friends. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wok, Wine & WOW!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This is fantastic on every level, food, service, atmosphere. However the lady who owns this place really, really sets it apart from every other Chinese restaurant I'be ever been to, her hospitality was amazing.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Give it a chance, you won't regret.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

And as lots of other restaurants, you have to meet This one with some patience and an open mind.

My girlfriend and I went to wok and wine The third day of our first stay in Edinburgh and we Loved it.
Many people in here say they didn't like THE restaurant, that the service was horrible, that they got little value for their money and so on.

The thing is: if you what you are Looking for are great food for a cheap price, This is the place for you. If you can't stand The thought of staying in a restaurant with many people without it having a million dollar interior: This is not for you.
The day we went there was the day after Black Friday and the whole place was packed. Especially with companies having Christmas-dinners. We saw some people sitting there being bothered by all the people and looking really frustrated on the personnel rushing through the restaurant, trying to please everyone.
We were lucky enough to book a table just a couple of hours in advance and we quickly figured on the busy night is was that we just had to give this place our patience and trust and hope it would deliver, and "man it did".
Firstly we didn't want to sit with all the business people so we got moved just in a couple of minutes.
Our waiter used some time on getting to our table so we ended up asking random employers about the menu, which wasn't a good idea, being the busy Saturday it was.
But after 5-10 minutes, our waitor arrived and gave us some great service and answered all of our questions perfectly.
We ended up eating a 4-course dinner and wine for 56 pounds all together, which is really awesome. The dinner being 15£ each is incredibly cheap.
I could understand the people saying they got smal portions for a ton of money, but ill give you our tip for This place: be patient and open minded, and when you Get your waitor he/she will show you all about the rather advanced menu which could give you some Amazing deals.
Also, after a couple of hours, when the place got a bit more quiet, we got to Enjoy takling with the staff and finding they were all realt friendly and open

So:
Give it a chance, your patience and your personallity and it won't dissapoint you :-)

Have a good one!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food here is wonderful and we couldn't fault the service . Very friendly people, really enjoyed it, will go there again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok & Wine also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wok & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.