We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed this Edinburgh Chinese restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wok & Wine

Wok & Wine
57a Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH21LH, Scotland (New Town)
0131 225 2382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 1,824 restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: New Town
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this Edinburgh Chinese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went for a two-course menu. Basically, you choose a starter, then you get a choice of three main courses with egg fried rice. The food was really good - well-sized portions and without all the glutinous thickening that you get in most UK Chinese restaurants. We went fairly mainstream. the hot and sour chicken soup was good and spicy; the beef with the black bean sauce was not the usual poor quality beef - it was excellent and is claimed to be Scottish-sourced; the lemon chicken was well-prepared and the duck was crispy.

Enjoyed it and will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    68
    44
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Been coming here for years and would have always suggested it to friends to go but last two times both food and service has bn disapoonting.
Went for a meal tonight at 6.30 and took them over half an hour between starter and main and asked for the bill at the end of the main after we had waited for soneone to come and clear our plates for at least ten minutes and didnt happen and the bill didn't come so we ended up givibg up and going over to pay. We never got asked for any second drinks or at the end if we had a good meal.
So bad which is such a shame and won't be going back as once you can forgive but not when it's happened a couple of times and it's the same.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Average food at inflated prices. City centre location city centre prices without the food to justify it. Karen's Unicorn offers far better value for money

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Have been here several times and my friend many many times over the years but the last two visits have proved disappointing. Tonight,6pm, food was just lukewarm, the sweet and sour sauce was gloppy and the rice looked and tasted like it has been left to go cold and reheated. Sorry but it's not good enough so will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family and I visited this restaurant recently and we had a lovely meal with attentive service. We were shown to a lovely big round table and after our drinks order was taken we were served some appetisers which were delicious. We all chose different starters and main courses and none of us were disappointed, the food was lovely and the staff were friendly without being intrusive. My only complaint would be the lack of chose of beers and lagers but then we have come to expect that whilst eating in Chinese restaurants. We will definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok & Wine also viewed

 

Been to Wok & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wok & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.