We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music & Attitude - Just overlook the rest.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Voodoo Rooms

The Voodoo Rooms
19a West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland (Princes Street and Gardens)
+44 131 556 7060
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Voodoo Rooms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #580 of 1,982 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Bar, Restaurant, Music, Entertainment, Functions. The Voodoo Rooms is an award-winning bar & restaurant located in central Edinburgh which opened in November 2007 with the aim of further boosting the city's vibrant bar, restaurant and live music scene! Our award winning bar is stocked with a vast selection of specialty rums, tequilas & fantastic cocktails, with food served from 4pm - 10pm Monday - Thursday, and from noon - 10pm Friday - Sunday. Our full food & drinks menus, along with our entertainment schedule can be accessed on our website. You'll find upcoming entertainment highlights with their own links in the "Event Listings" box. You will find The Voodoo Rooms in a beautiful & historic building, just off the east end of Princes Street, in central Edinburgh. The Voodoo Rooms comprises of six large rooms and four bars – The Main Bar & Restaurant Room, The Speakeasy, The French Quarter and The Ballroom & Ballroom Bar. The Bar is open to the public with The Ballroom, The French Quarter and The Speakeasy opening in accordance with our busy and exciting entertainment schedule.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Music & Attitude - Just overlook the rest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The voodoo rooms are full of character - This pub has serious history and some really beautiful furnishings in the main hall. There's 3-4 side rooms for private parties and concerts and there's always stuff happening worth checking out.

I didn't try the food as I was here for a friend's concert but the overall setup is great. Staff are friendly and fast and cocktails and drinks were well made and well priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    48
    21
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had my hen night here, and if you want a 'civilised' hen do this is a great choice! I just wanted somewhere that a group of 30something ladies could sit and take our time over a meal and a few cocktails, then move on if we felt like dancing (we didn't in the end - got too comfortable!)

As a group of about 15 we were seated in the restaurant area off from the bar, and had this space to ourselves. We could have been forgotten about here but the service was actually very attentive. It was also quieter than the main bar so we could have a good chat.

We ate from a group menu which had a choice of about three options per course - meat, fish and veggie (though the veggie option didn't look particularly inspired). This was about £15 for two courses or £18 for three, so fairly reasonably priced. The dessert choice was a bit limited - sticky toffee or cheese board, which both seemed kind of heavy - so most of us opted for another cocktail instead. The cocktail menu is unusual - not your typical cosmos, mojitos etc - so it took some time to choose, but everything I tried was delicious.

This is a really stylish venue and I would definitely go back. Saturday night in the main bar was very busy, but I would pop in for an early cocktail anytime!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went here after being told it was great for food and we were not disappointed. Great atmosphere and the service was good. There were some wonderful items on the menus and great sounding specials. Will definitely be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to The Voodoo rooms on a quiet Monday night. Between myself and my husband, we had 4 different cocktails which were all delicious. We both had dinner too, which was good, not the greatest, but what do you expect from a cocktail place? We both enjoyed the place, it had a nice atmosphere and the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“5 star just on the rose gin in tea cups!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went here as a group of 11 for pre dinner drinks. Beautiful, stylish rooms and cocktails served in tea pots, poured into teacups full of ice. Just delicious and a real experience. I also ordered some nibbles which were delicious. Highlight of the weekend. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Voodoo Rooms also viewed

 

Been to The Voodoo Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Voodoo Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.