We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely italian restaurant with fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Roma

Ciao Roma
64 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1LS, Scotland (Old Town)
0131 557 3777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #622 of 1,790 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
durham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely italian restaurant with fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If your in Edinburgh and want to eat authentic Italian food then this is your place, I found it popular, friendly, authentic and the food was lovely, they do their own home made ice cream in a selection of fabulous flavours which has won awards. When eating make sure you leave room for their fantastic deserts.
It's not the cheapest Italian I've been in but I think you get what you pay for and having said that its still not expensive for 3 main courses, 3 fantastic deserts, 2 liqueur coffees and drinks including a lovely chianti classico, beer and soft drinks it came to around £80 but worth every penny.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Ciao Roma, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I am glad to hear you were happy with your experience in Ciao Roma...
Thank you for your feedback & I hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    91
    37
    17
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A lovely restaurant hidden away in a street just off the Royal Mile, so not too central but nonetheless a great atmosphere and not too quiet at all. The food was great and priced very well, the service was also fun and made us feel very welcome.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Ciao Roma, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Ciao Roma. Thank you for your feedback & I hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Bustling, Clamorous, Energetic Italian Restaurant Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a crazy, bustling, clamorous, and very energetic Italian restaurant on street South Bridge, Edinburgh, Scotland. We were having dinner with our tour guide of 45 people, with 4 entree selections as well as soup or salad, and bread (no butter). Our 3-4 restaurant waiters appeared to be running around in 'mad', frenzied behaviors in order to take the multiple orders and serve such a large group. Mistake #1 ~ taking alcohol/wine drink orders for so many people, and then not receiving payments "up-front" when the drinks were served to the crowd. At the end of our dinner meal, the waiters slowly prepared the drink bills for some 30 tour people (this particular night's dinner meal was included in our tour price), and as a consequence of their inattentiveness and unrushed multi-tasking, several couples walked out, leaving their drink bills to either their fellow tour mates to pay, or for the restaurant to "absorb" them as "alcohol losses". All in all, it's an okay restaurant for Italian food. Its ambiance is warm and rustic of Old World Italy with lots of bustling, clamorous waiters and loud, convivial chattering of restaurant guests.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Ciao Roma, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied with your experience at Ciao Roma. Your comments have been noted & we will work to improve our dining experience. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Top food. Top welcome. Top service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a real find. We went along for the 6 course taster menu and could not fault any part of the deal.
From a friendly welcome - and advice as to where to sit as we were a bit cold! - to expert explanation of the food and wine available we just relaxed into enjoying expert cooking and attention.
A tiny example. I asked for a little extra bread to mop up the delicious sauce with the lamb meatballs and the Head Waiter had a word with the food preparation staff. Within a couple of minutes a beautifully presented platter of the freshest of bread along with butter portions appeared.
The other 2 Italian waiters never stopped watching over customers and topped up our wine glasses whenever necessary yet at no time was this attention to detail intrusive.
We spent a very pleasant 2 hours there and will definitely return.
They do excellent value 2 and 3 course pre-theatre dinners, and being virtually across the road from The Festival Theatre must be busy most nights of the week.
Try them!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Ciao Roma, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Ciao Roma. We hope to see you in the future! Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The first thing that strikes you is the great atmosphere as you step into 'Ciao Roma'.
A warm welcome, attentive waiters, freshly prepared italian delights all made it a great evening out.
We will certainly be back for an italian feast (including their gorgeous ice-cream sundaes!) when back in Edinburgh.
If you want fantastic value for money in a buzzing place - you must visit 'Ciao Roma'!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Ciao Roma, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Ciao Roma...we hope to see you in the future!
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Roma also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ciao Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.