We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Valentine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pompadour by Galvin

The Pompadour by Galvin
Princes Street | Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland
+44 131 222 8975
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pompadour by Galvin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,901 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $54 - $106
Cuisines: French, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The first Scottish venture for Brothers Chris and Jeff, The Pompadour by Galvin offers a luxurious French culinary experience, made using meticulously sourced local ingredients, and seasonally inspired flavours. One of the city's most precious treasures, The Pompadour was opened in 1925, inspired by the official chief mistress of Louis XV whose portrait adorns the walls with the Salon where you able to have pre & post dinner drinks before moving into the main dining room with its hand painted panels and original features
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Valentine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Long overdue review. Came here for valentines. Booked in Dec 2013. Asked for a table with a view. Not disappointed! Service Excellent. Staff were relaxed and you could have a little chat or even a laugh with them. I like when there is professionalism but at the same time not uptight ! Tables were well spaced. The atmosphere of the restaurant does make you feel special.
Food was perfect. Well timed. Simply delicious.
My only feedback is since it was valentines and I know top restaurants do not decorate much - however it would have been nice to have little hearts on the table - subtle but still present. There was no hint that it was Valentine's day. Otherwise thanks very much and I have recommended your restaurant to friends and family.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Adshead, Manager at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It may have been a while since Valentines but in a sense it means more to us that we are still think of the meal! Thank you for recommending the restaurant to friends and family and we have taken the feedback concerning the decoration on board. We hope to see you next Valentines night if not before, romance in Scotland is 365 days a year!

All the best,

Peter Adshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    25
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is just plain fine dining, everything was perfect, the atmosphere, the service, the attention to detail, the food, everything was just right.

Being fine dining you expect the mael to be drawn out, but no, the meals were delivered in a very timely manner, and each thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Adshead, Manager at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear the feedback from your dinner and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Peter Adshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I thought we would treat ourselves on our first night of our honeymoon; and what a treat!

Fantastic food combinations, with wines to match, in beautiful surroundings made for a fabulous evening. Excellent and knowledgeable waiting on staff ensured that our meal at the Pompadour was a memorable one! Would highly recommend, and will be returning next time we are in Scotland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Adshead, Manager at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Pompadour for your honeymoon, it is touching when you are chosen for such a special occasion. We are glad that the training we undertake is evident in our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Scotland.

All the best,

Peter Adshead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old school fine dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Decent food but nothing special, good service, classic old style room, some rough edges requiring more work. With so many outstanding restaurants in Edinburgh, they really need to add a bit more effort.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Adshead, Manager at The Pompadour by Galvin, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for coming to visit us in The Pompadour by Galvin, I am disappointed that in you have picked out areas that need approving. As a restaurant we are consistently aiming to better ourselves and please feel free to contact me directly at peter.adshead@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind Regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Almost flawless. The service was superb and the staff were friendly and polite. The only thing letting this place down is bar prices. £9 for a single measure of gin and then £2.75 for tonic water making a very expensive gin and tonic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pompadour by Galvin also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Pompadour by Galvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pompadour by Galvin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.