We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heights Restaurant Edinburgh” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heights Restaurant

Heights Restaurant
Apex International Hotel | 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland (South Side)
+44 (0)131 473 7156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Side
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heights Restaurant Edinburgh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I booked our table 3 weeks in advance and requested a window table. Even though the restaurant was practically empty on our arrival we still didn't get the window table I'd requested, and there were window tables still lying empty when we left 2 hours later.

Cannot fault the service but the food was terrible. The venison and turkey were both very dry and covered in something very sweet (a bit like chutney) and the terrine starter was like eating cardboard. The best part about it was the dessert but that was too small. A glass of Pinot Grigio was £9!

Overall, very disappointed. I had expected better based on the majority of the reviews and we won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hogmanay Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A fabulous evening at the Heights Hotel Restaurant for Hogmanay. The food was amazing and the trouble taken by Justyna and her team was wonderful. Fabulous view of the castle and the fireworks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Edinburgh secret?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant seems to be almost an undiscovered secret of Edinburgh!

Trying to get a last minute dinner reservation in the city on a Saturday was proving impossible so we said, ok, we'll eat at the hotel *groan!*. It turned out to be an excellent choice!

The view for starters is incredible with the castle lit up at night. Despite the numerous Christmas party bookings the hotel seemed to have, a table for 4 was no problem and there were only 3 or 4 other small groups in, more romantic meals for 2 than raucous parties.

It was a set £40 per head for 3 food courses (a decent number of dishes to choose from) and coffee with mini mince pie. What wasn't mentioned is it also included an 'amuse bouche' and sorbet 'pallet cleanser'! I realised when these arrived that it pretty much was the poshest restaurant I'd ever been to!

The presentation of the food was stunning and tasted amazing - i took photos as i was so amazed. Portions were fairly generous too so we did not feel under fed in the slightest. Being an avid Master Chef fan, I felt like I was in the programme! We decided between ourselves that they must be gunning for a Michelin star it was so good.

We couldn't really believe what a happy accident finding the restaurant was! The service was also impeccable and the bill was was ver reasonable for the experience we had, it was worth the journey up alone!

The 1 disappointment was not of any fault of the restaurant. When we went downstairs to the bar after our wonderful meals, I asked the bar man to suggest an aperitif as the staff upstairs had been so charming and eager to please. he just shrugged his shoulders and walked off. I asked him again and he said, 'I don't know, what are you after, sweet? Sour? I don't know' at which point I said if you can't help me I'll not have anything and walked off. He only seemed to be nice to people he was doing table service for as he'd get tips. Shame.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Almost makes you forget the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at the Apex before but failed to get a table in the restaurant. The view almost forced us to make sure we didn't forget the next time we were in the area. Cue overnight in Edinburgh so off we went. Staff very nice & welcoming. A bit slow with taking orders, not too sure who was the lead waiter/waitress but that didn't matter too much. Good selection of drinks/wines & not too pricey. Menu selection small but good variety. Haggis bon bons tasty & well presented. Beetroot salmon alright but was expecting a bigger taste. Venison cooked to perfection but the beef cheeks stole the show. Wonderful!! Desserts again, tasted as good as they looked. Final bill was even better!! Overall, great food, staff, view etc & would return when next back in city. Warning though, watch where they put you. A bit of a draught near the door.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have been to the Heights twice recently on dining offers and had a great meal on both occasions. Very tasty food (partridge starter and caramel parfait particularly good), good portion sizes and great views of the castle which it is really worth visiting for as well as the food. Perhpas a little pricey if paying full prices and dining room a bit bland but highly recommended for food and view (and if on a dining offer a must).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heights Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Heights Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heights Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.