We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express - Edinburgh, Northbridge

Pizza Express - Edinburgh, Northbridge
23 Northbridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SB, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)
+44 (0)131 557 6411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #783 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Edinburgh (North Bridge) offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Dropped by for lunch. It was a nice quite place and not too busy. Enjoyed the relaxing soft music while watching the hustling traffic pass. Our waiter was not the best, but his coworker seen and bent over backwards to help us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    96
    47
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Slow service with mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The manager seating us had an attitude and we had to wait some for our waitress to finally come over. The food was just ok. We went to the restaurant of George IV St. Maybe one of the other locations is better.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good service, friendly staff & the usual quality pizzas you expect from Pizza Express. The restaurant is handy for both Princes Street & the Royal Mile and has a nice interior. The waitress was very helpful with swapping toppings and so on & offered to pack up our daughter's pudding which she was too full for, something that we've never been offered at Pizza Express before.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked a table online. Guy asked for the name which I told him and he tried to say we hadn't booked and they were very busy. I pointed out the name on his list. He then put us at a table right at the back so they could forget about us! I had my niece - no kids menu was offered and we waited a long time for food. The food and drink was lovely so credit to the kitchen. Just the service wasn't the best - perhaps it's better if they aren't busy ?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Better pizza than Italy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

After a show at the cinema my partner and I decided to pop in to pizza express on northbridge on our way home. Despite the fact that the restaurant was almost packed to the gunnels, we were greeted at the door by I presume a manager, with a smile from ear to ear!

It was a shock to read earlier reviews, as our experience was far from that. Considering it was a Friday night, and we had not booked yet they had about 3 large parties in there, the service was fast and efficient.

The manager sat us as asked if we would like something to drink while we perused the menu. The drinks arrived within only a matter of minutes. A lovely waitress came with them and asked if we would like to order something to nibble while we decided, we ordered some olives. When she came back with these, we ordered our meal. We were sat next to a large party, who by the looks of it hadnt got they're food yet, so we thought there could be a bit of a wait. This didn't bother me too much as it was Friday and the place was rammed. However to our surprise, the big table received they're food, then a couple of minute later, out started were brought over by a very enthusiastic waiter. I hear his name was Richie as he was talking to a table next to us.

Our starter plate were then cleared, we got offered some more drinks, then out main course arrived within 10 minutes of out plates being cleared!! Friday night, rammed place! We asked our waitress her name and where she was from as she made some time to talk with us. I would like to say, what an asset Veronika is to that restaurant. Very genuine.

We declined dessert, even though she did try to tempt us with a mini one. It was all a bit too much!

Really a fantastic Friday night, made better by a wonderful experience at this pizza express. I would most certainly recommend and I will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express - Edinburgh, Northbridge also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express - Edinburgh, Northbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express - Edinburgh, Northbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.