We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skerries Restaurant

Skerries Restaurant
The Dunstane Haymarket | 4 W Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland (West End)
+44 131 337 6169
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Skerries Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 1,790 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: In the charmingly old world setting of the Dunstane House Hotel, The Skerries is a handsome seafood restaurant with a punchy menu that draws on the Orkney origins of the owner. Situated west of Haymarket, this Edinburgh mainstay is decorated in formal Victorian style, with beautiful windows overlooking the gardens. The seasonal cuisine combines Orcadian seafood and meat with local produce to create dishes bursting with flavour. The cosy bar affords a sizeable selection of Scottish malt whiskies.
Whitley Bay, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Real chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Great food, friendly staff but food a little expensive. Having said that, it was great to get real chips! I have in a great many top restaurants and top hotels and have been served the usual frozen rubbish. Well done the chef!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Skerries Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
1adder

Thank you for taking the time to review the Skerries. We totally agree with the home made chips thing - that was an easy decision for us!

We hope to see you again soon to sample our new menu launching next week!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    24
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mgarr, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

While food is said to be served till 9PM, we arrived late at the hotel from a flight delay, and they still served us with great service and a smile. Food was very fresh and tasty and just what we needed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Skerries Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here. I am delighted we were able to accommodate you with your delayed flight and you were able to sample our delicious menu.

Please let us know if you are coming again and we would be happy to accommodate you.

Kind Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Exquisite meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Amazing food served in a beautiful setting with a relaxed atmosphere. The menu is Scottish . I had an amuse bouche of parsnip soup which was like velvet. My starter was a beautifully presented dish of cheeses & vegetables which was really tasty. My main course was celeriac& goats cheese pithivier with spelt & green beans. It was excellent. For dessert I had a chocolate dish that was very moreish. The staff were friendly & attentive & the bar is beautiful with a great selection of alcohol . The décor is beautiful & the prices are very reasonable. I intend to return again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Skerries Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
HI there,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review!

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience in the Skerries Restaurant so much. I will be sure to pass on all of your kind words to the kitchen, and waiting staff on duty.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Really good menu and excellent service. Pithivier was really good and the cheesecake to die for. Good wine list too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Orkney Delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This restaurant serves superb freshly cooked "local" produce mainly from Orkney and the waiting team are always polite and attentive. The Bar is well stocked.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skerries Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Skerries Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skerries Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.