We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.......one of the best meals we have ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockbridge Restaurant

Stockbridge Restaurant
54 St Stephen Street, Edinburgh EH3 5AL, Scotland (New Town)
+44 131 226 6766
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stockbridge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,900 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $31 - $54
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Up and coming chef Jason Gallagher has done a fine job in turning the former haunt of local 'celebrity' chef Juliet Lawrence Wilson into a luxurious showcase of his own exciting style of Modern European cuisine. The basement space really is a lovely little restaurant for a romantic meal or special occasion. Black-painted walls decorated with modern art work well with plush golden upholstered chairs, thick white table linen and fairy lights to create an especially intimate atmosphere. Gallagher works with fresh, seasonal ingredients so the menu often changes, but the offerings are guaranteed to be indulgent and of the kind that feel like they're a real treat to be eating. Perfect service too.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing.......one of the best meals we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Visited with my husband on Saturday 15th June for our anniversary. Whole experience was fantastic.....amazing food, great service and excellent value for money. We will definitely return and have recommended to friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    55
    17
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

went to this restaurant because of T A reviews and was delighted.Really good food,excellent service and excellent value for money. Will definately return

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Sunday night recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We came on a Sunday evening when there is a set menu and you can bring your own wine and pay a £4 per bottle corkage charge. There is plenty of menu choice but a bit hard to choose the wine to bring in advance so we brought a selection and then chose what matched best!
The restaurant is downstairs off the street so we nearly missed it. Dress was generally smarter than you tend to see, this initially seemed a bit intimidating but that impression was undeserved. Service was excellent, not fast (but this was what we wanted) and seamless.
We had wondered if portions might be smaller with the set menu but they were generous. Starter highlights were rabbit and pigeon. Everything was good and they ordered us a taxi at the end of the evening.
We will go back. Our daughter in her 20's enjoyed the food it but found it a bit staid and would not go back with friends (but would with us)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Understated perfect food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We live just a mile or so away. Why don't we come more often? Clearly one of the top 5 restaurants in Edinburgh. Quiet, efficient service and wonderful food. Taste is the focus, seasonal ingredients and a decently priced wine list ( important). Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous evening & exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with my sister in a very cold and wet evening. We were instantly charmed by the cosy atmosphere and friendly welcome. From beginning to end, the meal was absolutely delicious. I had the smoked trout, smoked mackerel pâté starter which was simply delicious, as was the langoustine bisque that my sister ordered. I had the halibut & she had the hake, both lovely dishes - the only thing I wasn't keen on was the avocado ice cream with mine. An interesting flavour, but it wasn't for me. For dessert we shared the selection of chocolate desserts (which were sinfully good) and the cheese platter which was generous, interesting, and very good indeed.

The service was perfect, unobtrusive but very attentive. We were made feel relaxed from the moment we stepped through the door. A great spot for a catch-up with a few friends, and it would be lovely for a romantics dinner too.

Highly recommend, and I will be back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockbridge Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Stockbridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockbridge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.