We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good wine option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecco Vino

Ecco Vino
19 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BP, Scotland
+44 (0)131 225 1441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #410 of 1,901 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pretty good wine option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice well positioned place in the city centre. Friendly staff and pretty good wine. I would have preferred a better selection of pinot noir and chardonnay; especially from Australia and New Zealand.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    86
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“our favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

we come to Edinburgh for a girls weekend once or twice a year from Dublin and as soon as we drop our bags off we head for ecco vino. It is a laid back and charming little gem on one of the nicest streets in Edinburgh. The food is freshly made in front of you and washed down with a great selection of wine. Great ambiance and lovely staff to top it all off. I'd highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cockburn st gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I love this place! Have been coming here for years - it's a classic Edinburgh gem. The menu is always great - my favourite is undoubtedly the chorizo pasta - and the wine selection is excellent. Staff can at times be a little cold, but it's always pretty hectic in there so they are usually swamped. Sit at the window in summer! Best spot in the house. Go here!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in cockburn street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Simple rustic food with delicious flavours is what this place is about. From the breads,soups,cold cuts,cheese platter or the pasta on offer is packed with flavour and beautifully presented.
Good value for money, fantastic wine selection and cozy atmosphere.
Definitely worth a visit on a cold rainy day or anytime.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One of my favourite restaurants in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I just love Ecco Vino , tasty food , excellent selection of wines , superb service and great atmosphere ! I am very pernickety about my wine and I have never had anything less than superb here . The food is simple and very tasty with the beetroot soup the best I have ever tasted .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecco Vino also viewed

 

Been to Ecco Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecco Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.