We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Saffrani

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Saffrani
11 South College Street, Edinburgh EH8 9AA, Scotland (Southside & Holyrood)
+44 131 667 1597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,370 of 1,790 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Street Food
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: An exciting and popular addition to the Edinburgh dining scene, New Saffrani is an unusual take on the traditional Indian restaurant. Situated close to the Festival Theatre and Old College, New Saffrani finds itself with a varied crowd flooding through the doors ��� everybody from tourists to students, young families and couples eager to try out their unique menu which concentrates mainly on fish and seafood, giving each an Indian flavour. There���s an extensive range of choices with meat and vegetarian dishes also given plenty of room, with each item imaginative and experimental, unlike any other in the city. Every care has been taken to match the wide selection of wines to New Saffrani���s food, guaranteeing a full dining experience bar none.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, but not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I've tried most indian restaurants in Edinburgh, and this is not really one of my favourites. However, I cannot review it based on my own tastes in food. I ordered take-away from New Saffrani, and the waiting time was alright - not too fast, not too slow. The food was ok, but it was far from being excellent...

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    9
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Went to this small restaurant before Captains bar as they are in the same street. Everything tasted fresh and nice. A lovely meal and service Was great

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canny Scot
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother with vouchers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I recently tried to book a table at this restaurant using an nCrowd voucher. The person I spoke to assured me that they were fully booked even although I was pretty flexible about the time of arrival. He couldn't possibly offer me a table for that evening even as early as 4.30 pm.

Consequently I used another restaurant in the area. Out of curiosity, before going to the second restaurant, we made a detour and looked in the New Saffrani window. The tables were entirely empty with no signs of any customers. As it's in a back-street location I doubt whether any rush of customers would be arriving soon.

Can't understand why any business would go to the bother of using these voucher schemes but fail to accept customers when they are obviously lacking custom.

I know that, despite fairly favourable reviews on Tripadvisor elsewhere, I won't be looking at them again.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I bought a cheap groupon deal and wasn't expected too much. I was wrong! Food was delicious, waiter friendly. I will definitely visit again

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Ordered a takeaway from here and was absolutely disgusted. Everything was absolutely foul especially the butter chicken which tasted as if the base was made from Campbell's tomato soup. It was also severely overpriced and my rice and bits of oily onion in it that had clearly slipped in from someone else's food left in the frying pan . Absolutely rank.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Saffrani also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to New Saffrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Saffrani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.