We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexperienced staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Melrose Restaurant
Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel, 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (New Town)
+44 (0)131 240 5500
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Melrose Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,306 of 1,789 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: International, British
Neighborhood: New Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: New Town
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Inexperienced staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Food was good, especially the breakfasts,which were excellent, but the staff were inexperienced particularly the younger staff. It was a little disappointing that they did not have either of two wines we ordered, and meant that we had to have more expensive ones. No discount offered.
The ambience would have been helped by having some music playing in the background. And the upholstery was looking a little tired and a couple of chairs were stained.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Roxburghe Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived late in Edinburgh after an 8 hour journey by train. Our booking at the restaurant (in the hotel) was for 7.30 but they were quite happy to delay it for 30 mins whilst we checked in to the hotel and changed. The meal was very good - I had smoked salmon followed by pork medallions whilst my husband had "haggis neeps and tatties" followed by venison. My main criticism was that the service was poor. The apperitif was delivered quickly but the glasses were left on the table till the end of the meal. My husband asked for more water but it was very slow being delivered. At one point the waitress was more interested in chatting to one table of diners than in delivering the orders. There were only about 14 people eating with 4 staff so service should have been better - what would it have been like if full! If they get this sorted then it would be worth visiting as the food was very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is located in the Roxburghe hotel. I satyed for almost a week in Roxburghe but did not desire to go to Melrose. The brealfast here was definitely good and so was the coffee.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better than expected but little character”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Ate here as I was staying at the hotel and was pleasantly surprised. They were slightly slow to take my order, however I had the duck which was divine and a small glass of wine - £21. The ambience is neither here nor there and the restaurant is definitely more suited to breakfast as said by the previous reviewer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for breakfasts, not for dinners”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have enjoyed a number of Macdonald hotels restaurants and they have always excelled at local fine ingredients, excellent flavours and perfect service. What a disappointment this was. Plain, uninspiring (at best) decor, a truly disappointing menu (gnocchi, salmon, chicken and 3 types of steak/beef- each at a supplement). The starters were poor and did not match the descriptions, the salmon risotto main was delayed in coming and not cooked enough. They forgot our wine, and it was not properly chilled. If you intend serving good food, why ruin it with a £5 (supermarket) bottle of wine.
We also had breakfast here. Different staff who were more organised and attentive. The food was well cooked and of good quality. Scottish ingredients and i ate too much! This brings the overall ratings up. I will not ever taste better black pudding, and (for those not keen on proper black pudding) the rest was excellent too.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melrose Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Melrose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.