We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TGI Friday's - Edinburgh

TGI Friday's - Edinburgh
22-26 Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3HT, Scotland (New Town)
+44 (0)131 226 6543
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,192 of 1,982 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $63 - $63
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good food as always from this chain but very disappointed in the service in this visit. Was gobsmacked that i was charged 99p for some sour cream we had to ask twice for with our main. Think a chain of this size should have this down to a fine art and be more open with cost of things like this.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    104
    74
    56
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Service was fantastic! Food very good and the choice of cocktails even better cant fault will be back

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“TGI Friday's - Edinburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to TGI Fridays to have dinner with friends. The atmosphere was good and the staff were friendly and helpful on arrival. Drinks were delivered quickly. Food was a bit slow but that was to be expected as the restaurant was very busy. But when it came it was definitely was worth the wait. The portion size was ample and the food was cooked really well.

Really happy with the service and quality of food and would definitely recommend TGI Friday's and would think about visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not worth the £55 bill for burnt steak !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We were in Edinburgh for a few nights and thought we would stick with a chain as usually you know what your going to get. How wrong we were.
We were shown a table straight away but asked for a few moments to look at drinks menu, 20 mins later before anyone took our order.
Sharing nachos were fine but not worth £10,
My salmon was as always decent enough but my hubby's medium steak could have smashed windows it was truly cremated.
I know we should have complained there and then but my hubby asked me not to, the result was a £55 bill for food which was pretty much average and that's being nice !
Service was poor and we will not return !

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

we went here about 8.30 on a fri nite, we hadnt booke da table so we were waiting for about 40 mins, we were happy to have a drink and there was a lovely cocktail bar in the waiting area so we didnt feel the time passing.
the staff were so friendly and helpful adn the food was delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGI Friday's - Edinburgh also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to TGI Friday's - Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TGI Friday's - Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.