We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the 25 min wait!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TGI Friday's - Edinburgh

TGI Friday's - Edinburgh
22-26 Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3HT, Scotland (New Town)
+44 (0)131 226 6543
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,067 of 1,790 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $63 - $63
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“worth the 25 min wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

i have been here a few times and always told waiting time is 25 mins normally its quicker so worth the wait and waiting at the bar you can see the bartenders doing some wicked stuff with bottles spinning etc you can get a massice cocktail im talking practically a bowl for about £5+ non alcohol ones are yummy to £2+, highly recommend the JD sauce im not a whiskey lover but this sauce is sweet and amazing. WARNING portions are huge so id opt for garlic bread to start. Not the cheapest place in the world but with huge portions and yummy food cant complain. you cant reserve a table here either.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    105
    74
    56
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing dairy and gluten free menus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Fab place with allergies! I cant eat gluten and the choice here is amazing. I had potato skins and chicken in bbq sauce with chips and it was great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A chain put still personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I wish I could remember the name of our waitress as she was great.
Great cocktails and food..
We had just a 20 minute wait on a Thursday night.
Only negative was that they had run out of draught beer!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing service and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped in for dinner on a Sunday night and the place was packed. There was a 45 minute wait on a table but we didn't have a reservation and would expect this on a busy night. We were happy to have drinks at the bar while we were waiting and everyone was so friendly and polite.

Once we were seated, our waitress Charlie introduced herself. Throughout the entire meal she was very enthusiastic and made the night. We were never left waiting to order more drinks as she was constantly on the ball with getting us refills and her service was slick and professional, despite the fact she looked like she had a busy section. Very impressive.

The jack daniels dipping sauce with the chicken starter I ordered was brilliant and my fajita main was of the same standard. My boyfriend enjoyed his burger too. We thought the price was very reasonable for 3 courses plus drinks.

It was my first visit here and I would recommend it to anyone as it encouraged me to write my first trip advisor!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nothing for American Diners to worry about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Always seems to be a waiting time so is this restaurant exciting and different? No. It serves average American themed food with wannabe American style service. Nothing wrong with it if you ignore the awful buffalo sauce on the processed chicken bite starters. Tried it, won't be hurrying back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGI Friday's - Edinburgh also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to TGI Friday's - Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TGI Friday's - Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.