We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whoop Whoop !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
61-65, Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 2HN, Scotland
0131 225 59 79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 1,826 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Mussel Inn Seafood Restaurant in Edinburgh is firmly established as one of the city’s most popular restaurants. Located on Rose Street just off Princes Street right in the heart of the buzzing city centre, we are a favourite choice of locals, tourists and business people alike.Mouth-watering, fresh seafood dishes created with top quality ingredients such as mussels, scallops and oysters sourced from Scottish waters, and prepared to the highest standards by our chefs is guaranteed with every visit.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Whoop Whoop !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have been trying to tie in a visit here since having a glowing recomendation from a colleague.
I can honestly say this was a cracking experience - The food does all of the talking.
The interior in itself is basic and very much like a cafe - but WOW does the food blow you away.
We had oysters and Queenies to start - Highly recommend.
Followed by a Kilo each of Mussles ----- Do not miss that treat !
I have had mussles many times in Scotland and all very good experiences - The Mussel Inn however has a great twist on the normal and Ill keep going back every time I can get a booking !

Really do advise u book in advance here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    429
    307
    73
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good seafood great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have the mussels, they are great. 1/2 kg is enough for 1 if you have a starter. Very cheap meal.
Book as they are very busy, I went on a Tuesday evening early and was fitted in as long as I was out by 8pm.
The peri peri prawn started needed a lot more chilli to be peri but the prawns were well cooked.
Might go back tonight and try the fish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Weekend in Edinburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a great meal here with my daughter. Food was good - especially recommend the scallops, the mussels and chorizo. Friendly, helpful staff and good atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Astonishing !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I eat here reasonably regularly and do not normally contribute to web site reviews but had to today ! I had the ' special of the day ' - seared swordfish steak with pineapple salsa and sauté potatoes, and baby beet leaves and it was superb ! A steal at less than £14 - keep it up guys - no wonder you are so popular !!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A dishy plaice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is the first of many visits, heavenly, if you love see food you will love it, on my first impressions of the restaurant I thought the tables needed renewing, the staff very friendly helpful, and willing to please, very reasonable priced,recommend the mussels

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.