We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monboddo

Monboddo
DoubleTree by Hilton | 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland (South Side)
+44 131 221 5555
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,049 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Neighborhood: South Side
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stopped in Monboddo for dinner and drinks with family while staying in Edinburgh. Had the roasted chicken. The bomb. Service was impeccable with both Jordi and Robin on the ball to ensure the meal was first rate. I would highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Venue in every aspect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

On a recent stay at the point hotel the monboddo was our hotel bar.
We had dinner here and chose to stay for drinks. Our waiter Jordi was first class, extremely knowledgable & friendly his recommendations were spot on. He advised on cocktails & whiskeys all if which were excellent. Some of the cocktails we sampled were his own creations and point to him being an extremely talented bar man.

The experience we had that night with Jordi makes us anxious to return.

Muchas gracias Jordi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin B, Manager at Monboddo, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Monboddo. I am glad to hear that you were well looked after and Jordi will be very pleased to see that he has been mentioned for the world to see.
Thank you once again.
Colin Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“couldnt leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we stayed at the point hotel and this restaurant represents the hotel to a fantastic standard. we had dinner at 9pm we weren't rushed the quality of food did not suffer. the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful.
After dinner we were asked if we would like dessert, we said no but were going to stay for a drink. The barman suggested I try a dessert cocktail, strawberry cheesecake. It was delicious. we stayed in the bar the full evening tasting a variety of different cocktails. The barman ( Jordi )
is a master cocktail maker and a credit to the hotel and restaurant. muchas gracias Jordi xx

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great cocktails, excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our hotel bar and after checking the reviews i was intrigued by 'sam's cocktails' lucky for me he was working and we asked for a suprise cocktail every time....pressure!.....after 5 different suprises, some his own creation and some classics, i can say with authority that the man knows his stuff! Flanked by a team of really friendly staff (equally cocktail capable i'm sure but i didn't get a chance to find out) these guys remembered our visit and welcomed us back after our night had ended to continue the cocktail extravaganza! Good job well done!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colin B, Manager at Monboddo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review. It is always a pleasure to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay so much they feel compelled to write about it. I have passed your comments to Sam who is overjoyed at his new found fame.
Thank you once again and we do hope to see you soon.
Colin Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Sam the bartender and his amazing cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the point for our trip to Edinburgh. We had a lovely stay and the hotel was in the perfect location for sightseeing in the oldtown and availing of the great student discounts in pubs and restaurants in the grassmarket area. On returning home from a long day sightseeing in the highlands, we decided to sample the Monboddo bar downstairs. My boyfriend, wanting to try every scottish beer on offer, asked our lovely bartender Sam for some advice. Sam gave great recommendations to him and then also helped me with my sweet tooth by recommending his latest cocktail creation. It was by far the best drink I have ever had in Europe. I had really lost hope in getting an adventurous, tasty cocktail anywhere outside of America. It contained apricot jam and berries and gin (and more cool stuff) and was extraordinary. My boyfriend is actually a bartender in the States and he was quick to give Sam his seal of approval too. I was so impressed with Sam, being so young and having such a clear talent for what he does and a genuine interest in talking to and helping his customers. Well done Sam and well done Monboddo.

Gillian, Ireland.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin B, Manager at Monboddo, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review of Monboddo. Sam is delighted to hear that you really enjoyed his cocktails. The bar team really put the effort in making classic cocktails and have the freedom to make their own creations.
Thank you once again for your review and your visit, we hope to see you again soon.
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monboddo also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Monboddo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monboddo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.