We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you James for another supurb meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dubh Prais

Dubh Prais
123B High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland (Old Town)
131 557 5732
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,790 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Thank you James for another supurb meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Back for another visit to Edinburgh and Dubh Prais is our mainstay there for dining. It never disappoints. We started with the haggis. This is how this dish should be prepared!
Collops of beef - perfectly done; and venison - very tender. The sauce reductions showcased the flavors of the meats beautifully. Finished the meal with an excellent single malt that we had not tried before. The owner/chef James is a master - we can truthfully say this is our favorite restaurant in Edinburgh. Tiny place - about 20 seats - we are serious when we say it would behoove you to book!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    87
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband found this restaurant on a search of restaurants on TripAdvisor.
We called and booked a reservation for our recent stay in Edinburgh. We were traveling from Islay to Edinburgh via ferry & bus and realized to our horror we wouldn't make our reservation. We called and were able to move it. So all we had to do was get there. Upon our arrival, we descended the stairs to discover a small, quaint dining room that sat no more than 24, and you weren't stacked on top of each other. If you're looking for touristy foods, this isn't the place for you. If however, you want local cuisine perfectly prepared, then you've found the right place to dine. My husband had the venison and I had the angus beef with the most divine sauce. Both the beef and venison were perfectly prepared to our request. And the sauce....oh, the sauce! My dish was all about the sauce. We had a wee dram after dinner and invited the chef, James, to join us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Scottish Cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Dubh Prais is a small restaurant located on the Royal Mile just below Edinburgh Castle. It is very quaint and cozy with about 10 tables. We dined at Dubh Prais on our first night in Edinburgh and the food was outstanding as was the service. Our meal included a Scottish dish consisting of beef prepared in a marvelous sauce. We highly recommend Dubh Prais.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Tiny restaurant tucked away on the Royal Mile, and down a flight of steps. Cosy atmosphere, with attentive but not intrusive service, and you really feel like you are in a well loved family restaurant. Collops were superb, and the selection on the menu was one of those that make you want to come back again and again to work your way through. A must for anyone wanting somewhere a bit out of the ordinary

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A small, quaint, and excellent Edinburgh restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very excellent. We split a superb smoked Salmon starter. My wife had the lamb, perfectly cooked and well proportioned. My beef special was excellent - medium rare with a tasty Scotish sauce. The cost with a bottle of house wine was £78.
There are only about 20 chairs, so make a reservation and enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubh Prais also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dubh Prais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubh Prais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.